We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good oasis from the pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poop Deck

Poop Deck
2928 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 241 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good oasis from the pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Good upper deck for drinks, but we chose the ground floor bar away from the sun next to a fan to keep cool...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Thr view in front of the beach is great. Good drinks and pretty cheap. I highly recommend this bar to anyone who is around Galveston.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Music was great & near our hotel. Walked home drunk instead of driving. Service was a little slow, but hey, it was Saturday night.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A Great place hidden in plain view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I didn't notice if there was a happy hour, but it didn't matter, as the prices were more than reasonable ($2.50 - 3.50 a beer). The place is not pretty, it is not for children, it is just a place to have a few beers and sit upstairs on the deck, enjoy the sun, and watch the waves on the Gulf. Its a great little place to spend an afternoon while you figure out what's next on your list of places to see/eat/visit. The atmosphere is totally laid-back, it had a local-vibe hang-out feel to it. We talked to some other people who were from 30 minutes up the road...and this is their favorite hangout. This place was skipped over by the college kids....thank you. My kind of Dive Bar... Period.

It is rather a small place, I guess the deck only has seats for 20 max, so do some scouting before committing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Your average biker bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Located along the seawall in Galveston, this is a nice bar for people or car watching. The second story balcony is a great place to relax and enjoy some drinks, while listening to the local stories and music.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poop Deck also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Poop Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poop Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.