We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not interested in our business” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brews Brothers

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brews Brothers
2404 Strand Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
(832) 524-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Nightlife in Galveston
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not interested in our business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

First let me say that we had neither eat nor drink here. We arrived about 5:30. No seating was available at the bar, so we sat at a table near the bar. There we sat for 15 minutes, looking around and waiting for a person to serve us. Finally the bartender came over to the end of the bar and informed us that this "is a bar", and it is "bar service only". When we commented that no seating was available at the bar, he just said something about still needing to come up to the bar to get anything. I can't imagine ordering anything to eat in a place with this level of disinterest in service. We left, and suggest anyone else consider not going in the first place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stop in for a drink.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Ghis place has a unique selection of beers. The selection changes daily and you can always find something yummy to try! Plus the servers are very knowledgeable and willing to share their knowledge.
If you want to sit, enjoy a beer and talk to interesting people, stop in!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Drink craft beer while the wife shops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visited Galveston on a weekday during their advertised Mardi Gras celebration (really only on the weekends). The wife truly enjoyed shopping in the boutiques on The Strand. I, not much of a shopper, stopped in at Brews Brothers for a pint or two.. Not disappointed! Great selection of drafts from all over the country (with a minor emphasis on Texas brews); chilled, and ready for consumption. Bartender/co-owner was very friendly. They expect to be serving food within the next 6 months or so. Check back often at this diamond in the rough!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“It will grow on you-try the craft beer first.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It was cold and drizzily, but the bartenders smile was warm and sunny. The venue is great and will get better as this place improves. Still it's a drafty place (pun?) and the front door was kept open while we were there--perhaps because the lighting situation is still being worked out. There were lots of beer offerings but not much for the non-drinker among us. Galveston Island was under water rationing while we were there-- You have to ASK for water. This being a pub-a soda selection might have been nice.Does anyone brew old fashioned root beer anymore? Or a quirky little water container with herbs or such--remember even the best craft beer drinker might be coming in with their mother-in-law in tow.

I hope one of the owners will step up and do a crock pot soup to offer on cold days like this even if it was given out gratis- Galveston has cold weather each year-it's hard to sit and enjoy several cold brews when your teeth are rattling---lol

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great beer, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Friendly bartender with a sweet beard. The place has a great selection of beers...even gluten free!! The place doesn't serve food but the restaurant next door has great food and delivers to the bar!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brews Brothers also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Brews Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brews Brothers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.