We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First experience at Joe's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
2000 Harborside Drive on Pier 19, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
(409) 370-0347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 241 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First experience at Joe's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Family likes seafood but Joe hates it (I'm Joe). However, we decided to give Joe's a shot while visiting Galveston for a weekend. Couple of issues here, first is that the kitchen is extemely slow! Our server was for the most part attentive, however we sat and waited a long while when there were maybe 3 other tables in the place for our food. My chicken sandwich was way overcooked (I know, it's a seafood place, but it's not that hard to grill a chicken breast). Wife and kids enjoyed their food and the beer was good and cold. Overall, we would visit Joe's again, just not this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Keep on walking...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Waited 30 mins to sit. Waited 1 hour plus for food. Poor service, weak manager who apologized with plethora of excuses from short staffed, backlog, etc.

Truly a waste of our time and holiday.

Use to like Joe's, but no more.

Skip it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Would not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We like and frequent Joe's Crab Shack and had a late lunch at this one when on vacation and in Galveston. Very dissapointing...the food was good; but the service was terrible. There were four five people working and they seemed like they couldn't care less. Our drink order sat at the bar as we waited and watched while the serving staff chatted amonst themselves. Our food took a very long time and as I said was good - but then we sat with the table full of dirty plates and no one to clean off the table. We would have stayed for another drink and maybe some dessert; but no one asked. I ended up going and waiting by the door to pay and we left. Will go to Joes again - but not in this location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, pesky birds....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We came in here after checking out a seafood restaurant down the harbor that we decided was too pricey. I don't like to go to chains over Mom-and-Pop places, but the view of the harbor is good, so we stopped here. Took probably 15 minutes to get a table even though there were at least 10 open. (The front desk crew not quite with it.) Once seated, though, our service was excellent. Entertainment was watching the seagulls and grackles land on the railings on the deck and even on the patio tables that hadn't been cleaned. (Management should have staff keep those patio tables cleaned quickly to keep birds from being so bold!!) All in all, a nice meal, although i'm sure not fresh seafood like we could have gotten at the pricey place down the way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not your typical Joe's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My mom, daughter, and I ate at Joe's on a Wednesday evening. The service was slow and the food was OK. The view of the pier was great. Be careful if you decide to sit out on the patio because the seagulls will bombard you and beg for food. My entertainment for the night was watching a lady throw some of her meal to the birds. Every seagull at the pier was attacking her for the next 15 minutes. The parking is awful there. Very limited on free parking spots.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.