We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Great stay. Upon arrival friendly staff welcomed us and immediately put us in an upgraded room at the front of the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and included a sitting area, fridge/microwave and a great view of the seawall. Location is right next to seawall and walkable to some restaurants. Hotel is located about a 25 minute walk to downtown Galveston (the Strand historic district). Free breakfast was what you would expect (be sure to make yourself a waffle shaped like the Lone Star State!). Parking was free and right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    70
    66
    44
    72
See reviews for
148
75
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This Suite is ideal to stay to be close to all attractions going on. Walk the Seawall. Good view from the rooms to see the water. Good pool. Great beds! Very comfortable. Good showers. Clean rooms and outside grounds. Small pet friendly, which was good for us. We will stay here again the next time we are visiting the Island. And we always eat at Fishtales for seafood.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

The Hotel is nice but no beach in front of it you have to drive about a mile down the road to the beach. The pool was dirty with sand in it and it was never cleaned while we were there. Beware of the TimeShare sellers that are all friendly in the lobby. They will promise you a cruise, 3days 2 nights stay, and other stuff. They want you to pay 40 dollars to secure the time slot and we did (my mistake). They said you will have to take a 90 min. presentation (which turned into 5 hr. there went the day) and it is all presure sales. After saying no for 2 hr. this old guy from corp. (dout it) came to sell me a membership for 200 down and 100 a month for 10 months and I can stay in the off season for 1 week. $1200 in the winter NOT. So just say no and don't waist your time because all those free gifts cost and the cruise, your cabin is in the bottom of the ship and you have to pay for the upgrade which after everything cost the same as on travel websites. Just a warning but hotel was nice just crowded.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

never go here i went their with my family and was enjoying it until i went in to the room bugs every where by the bed and it was horrible. then when we went to the front desk they said to call the people who you booked your room with. And they didnt believe us about the bugs. i mean would i lie!!! so we had a terrible vacation after that. and the front desk people were lazy and talking on the phone and when some one goes up to them they say they are tooo busy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was a busy busy hotel and was sold out. We stayed on the third floor and had to use the stairs but didn't mind coming down from altitude. This is right on the water which was nice. Our room was on the back side where there wasn't alot of commotion. The pool was packed full of people when we walked by going to dinner so my kids didn't swim that night. The breakfast area was real small and packed of people that were lined up to use the waffle maker. My son and I just had a bowl of cereal and brought it back to the room. I don't believe my husband or daughter ate because of the crowd and empty food. I would still recommend this hotel because of the price and location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel is a decent place to stay but what completely ruined our stay was the mosquitoes. There were mosquitoes everywhere outside and in the elevators! We got bit all over anytime we were entering or leaving the hotel. Location was good for the price but you will have to drive a couple miles or so down the seawall to get to the restaurants and other attractions. Rooms were decent as well.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogalusa, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed three nights at this La Quinta, and he got the rooms for free with his rewards points. This is the only positive during our stay, and I would have been sorely disappointed if we actually paid for the room.

The nice exterior is deceiving. The hallways and rooms have an old, mildew smell, and our room was very rundown. I was hesitant to even walk on the floors barefooted. On the third night, some sort of bug ran across the bed, and I couldn't wait to leave in the morning. It's not the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, but it is hugely disappointing for a La Quinta.

The location is somewhat outside the main happenings on Seawall Blvd., but it is close to Schlitterbahn's and Moody Gardens. The drive to the other end of the island can be lengthy if traffic is bad, but it's a short drive to less crowded beaches on the west end.

Overall, I'm sure there are better deals at nicer hotels in Galveston. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Address: 8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston is an attractive oceanfront hotel located just 3-miles West of downtown Galveston near several prominent attractions including, beaches, cruise ports, Bishop Palace, Moody Gardens, and Seawolf Park. Each well-equipped room features free high-speed Internet access, a microwave, and refrigerator. This La Quinta also offers a complimentary continental breakfast with hot waffles, fitness center, an outdoor swimming pool, and heated whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Galveston
Galveston La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.