We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Galveston
South Florida, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I really should have listened to all the bad reviews about this place. I usually love staying at La Quinta's, but this place is far from nice. It has the feel of a Motel 6, with better furniture. My husband walked around our room and the bottom of his feet turned black from the dirt mixed in the carpet. The towels are thin and small. Our bathroom area looked as if a teenager had cleaned it who was being made to do it... you know, quick, sloppy work... dust and grime on the base boards, soap remnants in the soap holder... I can't wait to get home so I can feel clean again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously- for improvement.

I am sorry we were not able to deliver a great experience to you, we will be utilizing your feedback to help us improve!

Housekeeping staff have checked and ensured the highest degree of cleanliness of the rooms and amenities. They have been instructed to ensure the best hygiene and all amenities before checking in a new guest to the room.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West . I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    70
    63
    42
    72
See reviews for
146
74
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our room had a layer of dust. Lamps not plugged in. Paint peeling in bathroom. Permanent stains/soap scum in tub. Water damage on walls covered by paint. Huge room w/ 2 king beds bug tiny table for 2 & 1 chair. No trash can in bathroom. No laundry service even though they advertise they have it & even put a laundry bag in your room w/ instructions to fill it out & give to desk. Took 3 calls to get more hangers. Tv signal bad, wifi signal bad. Staff is rude & could care less about helping you w/ anything. Beds are clean and very comfortable but that is the only good thing I can say about this hotel. We will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

Maintenance was informed of the problems you encountered in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to the necessary repairs

The housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness in their work for us.

Staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which our valued guests are to be treated

Front office staff has received extra training as to their responsibility to ensure that all guest requests are handled in the best possible manner and also to maintain an enduring hospitality.

We are thankful for mentioning all the positive sides which you observed during your stay. We assure you and request you to consider staying with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broussard, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here a few times, this time was because we were suppose to catch a carnival cruise. The rooms are very clean & the employees were very helpful. They have an awesome complementary breakfast(scrambled eggs & waffles) yummy;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was there for the Ironman texas (one night only). It was pretty expensive, but considering the peak weekend no big issue. Nothing special, just another La Quinta, no bad experience except our room was next to the elevator and the Ding-Dong from the elevator door was annoying.
The staff was kind enough to prepare breakfast earlier for all the tri-athletes (4.15 am).
I would recomend it for 1 or 2 night while waiting for a cruise or some other special event.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at La Quinta during a family trip. The hotel was one of the lowest priced on the island, but you truly get what you pay for in Galveston. I'm not saying the hotel was bad, but you'll notice other hotels/resorts to be a lot newer a updated. But, on to the review:

Value: 5/5 As I mentioned, the hotel was one of the lowest priced on the island. Weekend rates are still over $120 as the weekday rates tend to drop by almost HALF.

The Room 3/5: Typical, but clean. Nothing fancy here. The room did include a fridge, but the actual bathroom (shower/toilet) was VERY tiny with little room to navigate. Access to your room is outdoor, almost in a "motel" fashion. Not a problem for most, but some may want to know that detail.

Amenities: I did enjoy the pool at this hotel. Unfortunately, there is no Jacuzzi (but who needs that while you're steps away from the beach). With that in mind, you DEFINITELY need to select a BEACH FACING ROOM. The view is amazing and one of my favorite features about the hotel.The hotel is also lacking any fitness equipment, but luckily there is a nice beach front walk to accomplish any exercise you may need. There is a standard cold breakfast (with waffles) each morning.

Location: La Quinta is only minutes away from the pier (walking distance). There is a steak house and other restaurants close by. You're right on the beach and access is only a short walk down the street. You'll find a Denny's in the parking lot, but we found that they don't enjoy hotel guests parking anywhere near their business. This makes parking VERY LIMITED for La Quinta guests. We parked in one of "Denny's parking spaces" over night and they asked the desk to have us move our car. Needless to say we didn't give Denny's out business the entire trip.

Room Tip: Beach facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The rooms are what you expect in a nicer La Quinta. The staff was very friendly and we traveled with pets, so this is a good pet place. The hotel is located on a section of beach that you can not swim on but it's only a few miles to the sandy parts. It was nicer than a lot of the La Quintas I've stayed in the past... I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this La Quinta the first of February the night before our cruise. I was a little worried about our stay as the reviews for the previous few weeks had been bad and stated that place was being remodeled and lots of construction and mess. I called the week before our trip to check on the park and sail services and they informed me of the remodeling that was underway and let me know that it would not affect our stay. Our room was so large and had just been completely remodeled. We had a balcony that looked out on to the ocean across the street. We used the Park and Cruise service that they offer so that we could leave our car in their lot for the whole week we were on the cruise for only $25 plus they took us to the ship terminal and picked us up. We did have to wait a few hours from the time we signed up for the shuttle till we got to leave for the terminal but that is understandable as most of the guests at the hotel were also in using this service and it was Madi Gras weekend so the traffic was bad. Our experience with the staff was all good, everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: the hotel is right across the street from the ocean - get a room on the East side on the 2nd or 3 rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Address: 8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston is an attractive oceanfront hotel located just 3-miles West of downtown Galveston near several prominent attractions including, beaches, cruise ports, Bishop Palace, Moody Gardens, and Seawolf Park. Each well-equipped room features free high-speed Internet access, a microwave, and refrigerator. This La Quinta also offers a complimentary continental breakfast with hot waffles, fitness center, an outdoor swimming pool, and heated whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Galveston
Galveston La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.