We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninhabitable Hotel During Construction” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Hot Springs, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Uninhabitable Hotel During Construction”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We arrived for a 5 day get away. With no warning we walked in on a major remodeling in the hotel on January 6, 2013. We tried to stay but had to move to the other La Quinta at the east end of the island, following a night of hell. We were put in the only room on the first floor not under renovation and had to walk down the hall avoiding construction people and their tools. We demanded our money back and got it. Front desk gal was nasty upon checkin. Manager was the only person you could deal with and he was off sick. A suggestion to the franchise owner of this hotel is to shut down during this extensive remodel, get it done and reopen when done. We were very unhappy with the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the La Quinta.

We appreciate your review and your experience.

Please note that we are taking adequate steps to complete the remodeling soon and shall open to offer our guests a nice stay and hospitality.

We take your reviews quite seriously.

Please choose us once again and experience a fully satisfactory stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    80
    82
    56
    79
See reviews for
168
93
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
El Campo, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel was nice. Our stay was good. The hotel had decent beds, great HOT shower. Wall and windows are a LITTLE THIN! Could hear everyone walking by. We stayed in Jan. off season so rate was great! Not sure of summer rates. We enjoyed it! Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beware; this hotel is in the middle of a major remodeling project. Construction debris, dust, and dirt is everywhere. Overall filth makes this an unsafe and unhealthy place to bring your family. I would stay away from this hotel until the construction is complete.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the La Quinta during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate you for taking time to write a review.

We have noted your observation and have taken steps to take care of your observation as mentioned in the review .

We shall be privileged to have you in our hotel again and shall look forward the same.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Multiple rooms were infested with bed bugs, ours included! I have bites on my neck and legs and a bug in a bag to prove it! There were roaches in the rooms and curious stains on the floor. In searching for the bed bugs we also found lovely stains on the mattresses. HORRIBLE!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the La Quinta for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the amenities like bed and level of cleanliness of the rooms.

• Maintenance staff was apprised of your observation about the bugs and insects and proper pest controlling has been implemented for their elimination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose us to stay

I am sure that you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Horrible! Bathroom is falling apart, place is dirty, shuttle service to cruise pier is a joke. I'm normally pretty forgiving, and only stayed here because I had a free room. It's a good thing, because if I paid for this, I'd be really upset. The outside looks nice, but buyer beware!! There is a 2-3 hour wait for the shuttle to return you from the cruise pier to the hotel which is only 5 miles away! You could walk faster... Laquita really needs to take a closer look at this one. We saw many nice hotels while driving here. Do your homework and choose one of those. Just stay clear of this one!

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the La Quinta for your recent stay and the review.

We definitely appreciate every kind of criticism and suggestions about our hotel.

In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve.

We have addressed to your observation as mentioned in the review.

The point related to the shuttle has also been looked into.

We are confident that you will find an all new experience with us and would choose us for the next stay while you visit our area.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was scheduled to stay 3 nights on a long over due mini-vacation and it was complete disaster. It took 3j0+mins to get checked in, even though I had reservations. There were several groups waiting in the lobby to go a the cruises and they were very unhappy! Another gentleman could not understand something about his reservation and the young lady that was trying to helped kept trying to get info across. Finally going to her supervisor for a "what to I do"? Supervisor told her to go ahead and register him. She should have done that in the beginning. When I finally got registered, I was told the rooms were not ready: it was late afternoon and I had reservations! Finally got to my room on 1st floor and it smelled like urine! Very repulsive. The TV didn't work and coffee pot lid fell off in my hand. I called to get another room and was told there were none available; to check back in the morning. I checked out in the morning and said I would never go back. I have stayed there several times in the past without any problems. I love that it is on the West side of all the traffic in Galveston. I love that they accept pets as my 10 lb 2 yr old Shih Tzu travels with me. But..........what a disaster.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We also appreciate your review and observations which shall really help us to improve further.

Our apologies for the inconvenience during the stay as mentioned.

Additional measures have been taken to ensure the best cleanliness and proper amenities in the rooms.

We also have taken all the steps to ensure that our guests get the best services and hospitality during their stay.

We invite you once again to choose our hotel again and feel the new experience of hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Address: 8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston is an attractive oceanfront hotel located just 3-miles West of downtown Galveston near several prominent attractions including, beaches, cruise ports, Bishop Palace, Moody Gardens, and Seawolf Park. Each well-equipped room features free high-speed Internet access, a microwave, and refrigerator. This La Quinta also offers a complimentary continental breakfast with hot waffles, fitness center, a Seasonal outdoor swimming pool, and heated whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Galveston
Galveston La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.