We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down from what it was” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Austin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Going down from what it was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok, we have stayed at this location numerous time since it was built (maybe 8 to 10 years ago). I have put up with it for the price, but I think I may have to just pay more for a room rather than dealing with all of the issues at this hotel.

There seemed to be numerous maintenance issues throughout the hotel, even though they have obviously brought in some new furniture to modernize the hotel. The first thing we noticed was that the security door from the garage to the elevator did not work - that did not make me feel good. There were new pictures and furniture in our room, but the lampshades were old and cracked. And there were plaster patches on the wall that had not been painted over, and a peeling and stained ceiling. Carpet is desperate for replacement, I'm surprised they replaced furniture before the carpet. And the furniture doesn't leave a lot of room for storage.

Bathroom showed numerous signs of neglect, many patches on grout, evidently the soap holder in the shower fell down and was never replaced.

Evidently there HAD been a flat screen on the wall (the holding bracket was still there) but it had been replaced with an old small Zeinth like the ones we got rid of about 8 years ago.

The deal breaker for me was the temperature. And being a lady of "a certain age", I have issues.....temperature issues.......... And if you live in Texas, you know the temperature changes can be hot one day, cold the next, even in the winter. When we arrived at the room after registration, I noticed the room was a little warm. I tried turning down the AC/heating unit, but noticed it would only turn down just so far.

When I called the front desk to see about maintenance, I was told that the owners had adjusted all the ac/heating units for the winter so they would only go down in temperature that far. And in October in Texas, that was just not enough. Thank goodness a cool front came through the second day we were there, that helped a lot. But I don't think I can stay in a place that I cannot control the temperature as much as needed.

I cannot say that most of the staff seemed very interested in serving the customers. I DID notice the young man servicing the breakfast in the morning seemed to have a lot more on the ball, as did the lady who actually checked me out when we were leaving. I believe the cleaning people did as much as they could with the rooms.

This is a very popular place with the "cruise crowd" since they will let you leave your car and shuttle you to the cruise port, so maybe this is why there is a lack of maintenance and service, it always seems to be filled no matter what. But we will certainly be exploring other properties in the area for our little trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the La Quinta during your visit to our area.

We appreciate you for taking time to write a descriptive review and regret the experience however unlikely it may be.

We take it seriously towards improvement. We are addressing all the points mentioned in the review and also the front desk staff has been given special training to ensure they offer the guests the best hospitality and support.

We have investigated the incident as mentioned in your long review and have taken steps and assure you that the hotel cleaning and maintenance staff has been given additional training to ensure that this does not happen again.

We hope that you will consider us once again and have a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    84
    83
    57
    81
See reviews for
171
95
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

very decent hotel for a chain hotel. Location by the beach was great plus there is a good steak house round the corner.

The rooms were fairly clean and even though there was a giant roach in our room I think that's more reflective of the hot and muggy climate than the cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here twice, both very good experiences. We have a labrador dog and this is pet friendly. Newer building/recently built (last 5 years?), in a great location at western end of seawall/Seawall Blvd., away from the busy and crowded east beach areas. Good value. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were skeptical about this hotel after reading some of the earlier reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised. This hotel is nicely appointed, friendly staff, bountiful breakfast for being continental, great view of the gulf, very clean and nice bed linens. Everything in the rooms has been recently updated including the furniture, fixtures and decor. The carpet had a few spots on it in our room. Checkin and checkout was quick and efficient. The last night we stayed the power went out when we turned on the micro wave. When we called the front desk, they had us moved to an new room within minutes. The new room was an upgrade from what we had been staying in all week. Very accomodating.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room on the west side that will give you a view of the gulf. The east side faces a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our 2nd time to stay here - the first time was several years ago when it was fairly new. It is a smoke free hotel - however our room then smelled like a cigarette factory! My husband has asthma so we had to have another room. They only had one room - didn't offer to help us move or reduce our bill at all. We decided to give them another try this year. Checked in around 3 PM - while unpacking we needed more light in the room - there were only 3 lamps in the room, one had a burned out bulb. Tried calling the front desk to request a new bulb - only got a busy signal. My husband finally went down there. They told him the maintenance man had already left and took the only keys to the supply cabinet with him! So then they said they would get a bulb from another room and bring it up to us. Three hours later still no bulb - tried calling again - once again only a busy signal! So I went down - this time they told me that someone had gone to buy some - why didn't they do that 3 hours earlier!? Finally at about 8 PM we had a new light bulb! The next morning we left our room at 10 AM - saw the cleaning carts a couple of rooms away from ours - got back at 3 PM - the carts were at the other end of the hall, so figured our room had been cleaned - WRONG! I tried to call the front desk - of course, busy signal again! Went out and found the maid in a room about 3 down from ours - asked when ours was going to be cleaned - she acted very surprised! So it was cleaned - about 3:30 in the afternoon! When we went to check out the next morning there was no one at the front desk - my husband and another man waited for about 5 minutes - then they both just left our keys on the desk! This hotel needs a new manager and crew! We aren't going to give them a 3rd chance - will find a different hotel next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We also appreciate your review and observations which shall really help us to improve further.

Additional measures have been taken to ensure the best cleanliness and proper amenities in the rooms. All rooms are being thoroughly checked before a new guest is checked in.

We also have taken all the steps especially the front office staff to ensure that our guests get the best services and hospitality during their stay.

We invite you again to choose our hotel again and feel the new experience of hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Room was very clean, beds very comfortable, great location, friendly staff! Easy in and out of driveway. Lots of parking. Great price and will definitely choose this location on our next trip to Galveston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West

Address: 8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new La Quinta Inn and Suites Galveston is an attractive oceanfront hotel located just 3-miles West of downtown Galveston near several prominent attractions including, beaches, cruise ports, Bishop Palace, Moody Gardens, and Seawolf Park. Each well-equipped room features free high-speed Internet access, a microwave, and refrigerator. This La Quinta also offers a complimentary continental breakfast with hot waffles, fitness center, a Seasonal outdoor swimming pool, and heated whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Galveston
Galveston La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.