We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff - great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6302 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Sugar Land, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff - great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were in town for a bike ride that ended at Moody Gardens. This was a very convenient location and a bonus was that it was right across from the beach. The front desk was very helpful all weekend, and when I advised them we might have trouble checking at by 11am on Sunday, they offered a 1pm check out. Very nice! Room was clean - and big! We didn't even use the seating area, but the extra space was nice. The breakfast looked great (although we weren't able to enjoy it) and the dining area was spacious and not over-run with screaming kids. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you. The breakfast area is spacious, except at 9am on Saturday and Sunday morning when it can become quite crowded. The screaming kids are in school this time of year, so our guests can enjoy a nice peaceful stay :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Vernon, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved our weekend at this hotel. Right across the street from the beach. Location was close to lots of things to do. Room was large, bathroom was large, and there was also a balcony which faced the beach at an angle. I would suggest a 3rd story room to have the best unobstructed view. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a good selection. Had an indoor pool and hot tub but we did not use it. Covered parking with easy accessible elevators (2). Hotel was very clean.

Room Tip: Third story would provide the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the great review! We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to comment on their stay. Of course we always prefer the positive reviews, but we also welcome the negative feedback so we can improve for the next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our suite was very clean. The front desk staff a young lady named Lori was very helpful finding our room. She answered all our questions with no problems. Helped us find a kid friendly place for dinner. The snack bar and breakfast was awesome also. Bug spray at the front desk was a plus also.

Room Tip: Front corner is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much! Lori is great! We are very happy to have her on our team. I am glad to hear that our service had a positive impact on the enjoyment of your stay! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my three nights here. Being able to read on the balcony and watch the surf was nice. The hotel was clean and managed well.
The free breakfast was a good way to start your day. Eat here and save your food allowance for dinner.
Nearby: Kroger, Walmart, Golden Corral and Jimmy Johns. I'd like to stay here again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We would like you to stay here again too! Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nicely renovated hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Arrived early and allowed to check in. 1st room the A/C was not working properly, management moved us immediately to another room. Enjoyed the nice balcony over looking the gulf and 61st Pier. Great location - within walking distance to several restaurants, Wal-Mar and a Kroger store nearby. Odd numbered rooms have the best view of the gulf. Plentiful parking, covered and uncovered. Have already booked this hotel for our next 2 cruises out of Galveston. A great hotel for cruisers - offer a cruise package for $50 where you can leave your car for the week with free shuttle to and from the pier.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. Odd numbered rooms have better view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Cruise Galveston! We do offer a $50 Cruise & Park package (parking for 2 vehicles and round trip transportation for up to 4 guests) We also offer these services separately at $7.50 pp each way for guests who only need one way transportation or do not need to park. We look forward to your next cruise vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am what you would call, ummm...a hotel SNOB and this hotel is wonderful! The staff is very kind, accommodating and quick to respond to our requests. The room is very clean (trust me, I checked everything ~ even under the bed sheets). The beds were so comfortable that I had the best sleep in quite a while. I love that they provide 2 soft and 2 firm pillows for your choosing on each bed. Their pillows are 100% polyester filled, which is very helpful since I am allergic to feather pillows. The hotel has been newly renovated and is just beautiful. The breakfast is great and the coffee is AMAZING! The location is perfect. It sits in-between 2 jetties, (unlike other hotels where you have to walk a bit to get to a swimming area that's away from the jetties) and so the waves are somewhat calmer and there is a lifeguard stand within about 50 yards. The indoor pool is small, but very clean and the hot tub is just perfect. This facility far exceeds the Holiday Inn we have stayed at, that's about a block down, so we will definitely come back here and I highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side and as far to the south as you can get, have the best ocean view. From these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay. We love, love, love it when we are able to please our guests, especially the snobby, picky ones :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Found a great Amazon local deal and decided to take our kids to celebrate, it was our son's 5th birthday. First impression, the place is in a great location (you can walk to several places including the 61st street pier and several restaurants. Property has been recently updated and is welcoming and modern with a nice water feature as you enter the lobby. (FYI, Its a block to get to a light where you can cross the street to the beach.) Our room had a nice balcony, which the kids loved, and there was a partial view of the beach. The room was updated and clean and there was a cold AC. The elevator never seemed crowded, nor was the pool. The breakfast area was crowded at 8:30 during prime time, so we took our food around the corner to the pool area. The continental breakfast items were as expected (cereal, breads, fruit, yogurt.) The eggs and sausage were hot and plentiful despite the crowd. Hot items were not spectacular, but they were a nice extra if you want a more substantial meal. The kids loved the self-serve waffles and juice. The food attendant was friendly and helpful as were the front desk staff. No complaints about the stay, value or atmosphere. I did notice some things worth noting: Although its indoors, the pool is not heated. There were also some open windows in the pool area that had no screen on them and it made me nervous because its a two story drop out the windows. (We did report this to the front desk and I hope the issue has been resolved already.) Also, there is a musty smell in the hall probably from moisture to the carpet. We've noticed it at other hotels on the island and I'm sure that is a constant battle to abate. Final thoughts, my kids enjoyed it, the room was comfortable and it was a good value to be right on the beach. I would stay again and if we'd had the wasted space problem, my kids would have used it for a dance floor ;)

Room Tip: Closer to the front will have a better view, closer to the back will have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Fantastic review! Your review is fair, honest and detailed, other travelers will appreciate your assessment of our property. We will continue to improve our breakfast until every review you read says our breakfast is spectacular! I will recommend some updates to the pool area that should resolve the window issue. Thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront

Address: 6302 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Galveston
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.