We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read previous bad reviews, but we had a wonderful experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaido's

Gaido's
3828 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
+1 409-761-5500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaido's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 39th Street
Description: The toast of the Texas coast. How can frozen fish be called fresh? The answer for anyone with snap is simple: it can’t. That’s why Gaido’s is the classic choice for fresh Gulf seafood. Patrons know Gaido’s is real, when others are clearly not. From red snapper and blue crab to white tablecloths crumbed with panache, there’s no denying Gaido’s is one-of-a-kind in a world of imitation. Now, after four generations of filleting, frying, grilling and baking, Gaido’s has grown into the picture perfect place of traditions– birthdays, anniversaries, retirements, reunions. As the largest fresh fish house on the coast, Gaido’s can serve up to 2,500 happy diners a day. Plus, with the Pelican Club, private dining, catering, a new food truck and parking galore…it’s easy to see why Gaido’s -– for over 100 years – is truly the coastal classic.
Pittsburg, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Read previous bad reviews, but we had a wonderful experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Went at 3 pm on a Tuesday, so maybe that was the difference between our experience and others if they went at a busy time. We had very prompt, highly trained staff, friendly service. The bread, stuffed shrimp (very different what you may have had at other places!) was dee-liscious! Dessert looked great, but we had no room left for anything else. If the conversation lags, stare out at the Gulf of Mexico and the many ships that pass by!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    249
    148
    81
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Do it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I've been eating at Gaido's since I was 5 years old. I found my love for shrimp at a table here. Over 50 years later, I still come to dine here whenever I'm in Galveston. The food is always superb. Tonight I had grilled scallops and my wife had the shrimp blue. What set this evening apart was the five star service of Ashtyn and Chen. They did a wonderful job of waiting on us, never missing a beat. Both were very professional and personal. The Gaido's family is to be proud of them and thankful to have them on staff!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstandingly Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Being a Gulf coast resident for 60+ years you can tell if seafood is fresh... This is the best of fresh I have ever had. Those that eat seafood regularly can tell from really fresh to pretty fresh to day old, etc.. This seafood was FRESH! Has the unique Gulf of Mexico slightly salty accent to the taste that puts it apart from the imported items. Shrimp, oysters. more shrimp, more oysters, fried calamari, fried onion rings.....

Wife & I will definitely eat there again.

Tori G. served our table by the window. Excellent and attentive service. And one of the managers, from a discrete distance, kept her attention on things to be certain all was as it should be.

Looking forward to my next time in Galveston and a meal at Gaido's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service poorly treated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

After being told that this was the place to go for seafood we decided to give it a try.What a mistake!
After being seated we eventually got some service with an offering of a glass of water.
The waiter then preceded to serve everone around us leaving us sat with just a glass of water and no wine menue unlike his other guests who seemed to have their food and drink requirements met.We never recieved a wine list or any improvement in the service with a few veiled insults thrown infor good measure.This all climaxed with being given the wrong bill and no appology.Avoid if you want to be treated well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food but lacking in atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This felt like a restaurant for the older generation. We were a family of four and felt a little out of place. Most of the clientele were seniors.
The food was good but felt a little overpriced.

I was not well after the visit, but it is hard to day if this was due to the food here... The rest of the party were fine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaido's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gaido's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaido's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.