We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for our needs but ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Waterpark to your Saves list
Inn at the Waterpark
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Jones Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 40%
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Jamul, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good enough for our needs but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice, 2 story motel that's kept clean. Staff was hospitable. We enjoyed the food we got at the adjoining restaurant. Room was simple but spacious and clean. I can see where it's an ideal location for the water park, but we were there for the port and a cruise the following day. Turned out there is a bus line that services the area, and it's only $1.00/one way, but we burned up a lot of time waiting for it, transfers, and the like. We felt kind of stuck out of the way being at this location--the shops and restaurants are either downtown by the port or on the east end of the island. Next time we will probably stay closer to the port, but we were by no means disappointed with the hotel or their aid in transporting us to the port the morning of our departure. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    75
    65
    34
    22
See reviews for
144
27
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Location is good if u plan to check out moody gardens and the water park but still a good walk. The room we had was downstairs in the front and old school but clean and acceptable. Breakfast is nothing much but it's something. Away from traffic so it's fairly quiet. You have to drive to get most places. The put put was in need of attention. The outside pool was clean though. For the price it's a good deal if you are just looking for a place to sleep and clean up.

Room Tip: Not sure about the upper floors. The bottom rooms were ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week before and after our cruise and I have to admit we loved this hotel eventhough it is not by the beach but we will consider it whenever we visit Galveston. Rooms are big and clean, staff are very nice and helpful, service is excellent, breakfast buffet is good and for cruise travelers you can park your car under the covered parking, Shuttel service is excellent. And most of all you get the value for your money. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the new building in the back are excellent. Large space and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The friendly and accommodating employees cannot be blamed for NO hot water on a Saturday night:( Nor can we blame them for no cable in stormy weather. Sometimes it is what it is and at least they were kind enough to adjust or bill. Complimentary breakfast was good and they kept it flowing nicely. Love the putt putt golf ~ overall, a good experience, especially during off season rates especially:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stay here before going on a cruise. The walls are so thin that you can here people from two rooms away. People walking up stairs people talk next door and in the hall. So we did not go to bed till late then we where up before the sun. And to top it off there was no hot water.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

While the room was acceptable and the staff mostly friendly, the common areas of the hotel were not adequately air conditioned - which in this part of Texas is never ok in the summer! The common area was so hot (more than 100 degrees) that the elevator broke down. We were on the 4th floor. Thank goodness we spent most of our time away from the hotel...

Room Tip: If you stay on a lower floor, you have less flights to carry up your luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went up Saturday Morning before Labor Day through Monday Morning. 2 hour drive to Galveston so We paid the $25 for early checkin. Got there at 8 am. I would recommend this hotel for any stay. We were able to freshen up, change into swim clothes and head to Surfside. The air was already on for us. SO glad. Large room with 2 Q beds and a frig and micro. They have guest Beach Towels for the pool in the lobby. Maids will leave you some if you request it. Breakfast was good. Small area & little crowded but be patient an a table opens up. There is a great affordable buffet at Jungle Cafe' if you are in a hurry or don't like crowds. The front desk was great and plenty of brochures. I will post pictures at a later date. I got our rooms for less that $100 a night by booking on their website and prepaying. Great location to all attractions! Evn though there were a couple of minor problems not even worth mentioning this was a GREAT location and price!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Waterpark

Address: 2525 Jones Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Waterpark 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GALVESTON ISLAND ESCAPE FULL OF FAMILY FUN.The ideal choice for hotels near Schlitterbahn - Galveston.Could there be a better Galveston Texas hotel for family fun? Because it is located right next to Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Adjacent to Moody Gardens, the Inn at the Waterpark is among the best hotels in Galveston Texas for families.The Inn at the Waterpark is one of the more casual, carefree, laid-back and relaxing Gslveston Island hotels with a Family Friendly rates. Economy goes hand-in-hand with our Galveston hotel's comfort and convenience. You will find our front desk offers tickets for Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark.The fact that the Inn at the Waterpark is near Schlitterbahn Galveston and so near Moody Gardens is just the start. Other nearby attractions will keep the family busy for a week of vacation, or a weekend getaway. There's the fabulous Moody Gardens Golf Course, billed as the premier public course in Texas. You'll love the Lone Star Flight Museum right across from Schlitterbahn Waterpark, not to mention the 32 miles of sandy beaches of Galveston Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Waterpark Hotel Galveston
Hotel At The Waterpark
Waterpark Galveston
Waterpark Hotel
At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn Waterpark Galveston Tx

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.