We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Inn at the Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn at the Waterpark
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Jones Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early Save up to 25%
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend get away we usually stay at the la Quinta but it was booked so we choice this place for price and the fact we were going to palm beach that weekend. Above arrival we were surprised by an additional deposit fee of 50.00 which was later refunded after checking out. We stayed in the newer addition our room was very clean and served its purpose. Nice tv and bathroom area. We didn't have breakfast but the coffee maker in the room was a plus! For us the only complaint was the children who's parents let the jump and bang at 7:30 am above our room and the parking is a little bad with people parking in two spots but no major complaints ... We would stay here again! Good value not a fancy 4/5 star but a good decent clean place over all!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    52
    27
    18
See reviews for
120
22
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our view overlooked a huge ugly water tank, but the building we stayed in was overall decent - it seemed newer. We booked through Hotwire.com and have had good and bad experiences in doing so. i.e. A lower class hotel can be given a higher rating if the furniture in the building is in the higher category and in turn given a 4 star rather than 2 star, etc. We stayed in a place that the manager told us as to why the hotel was rated higher!

Positives: This place is by no means a 5 star, but, the A/C was great, the room was ok and the shower was nice. The beds were on the "ok" level - no pillow top! The elevator worked well also. The continental breakfast was fine except for the overcrowding in such a small area (cereal variety, pancakes, pastries, bagels/cream cheese, fruit, yogurt, milk, coffee, juices). Covered parking was available outside of the bottom floor of this building which was nice.

Not so positive: The appearance of the hotel upon entering was not the best due to a large statue lying on the ground in disrepair and paint needed on the exterior in some places. Some weeding within the landscape was needed too (no big deal though). The flat screen in the room was on the glitch. It would come in and out as if there were a poor connection. Room service came to check it promptly, rebooted the cable box and it seemed to have taken care of the problem, but the problem returned. There was no bathtub, only a shower. The doors to the parking area were not working well during the last couple of days that we were there. We would swipe our entry card and they would not open. There were two sets of doors so we dealt with this problem ok.

This place was very convenient to the water park and Moody Gardens, but further away from the busy tourist areas that were closer to the sea wall/pleasure pier/Strand. I can't say we would stay here again, but, if it were the only place available, we would. No major gripes, this place was just a place to sleep, get a good shower and go.

Room Tip: The back building with the parking under the building seemed newer and the rooms were on the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a quick one night stay here and luckily we didn't spend time in room... We were in the freestanding part(idk if that's the new or old section). Looked new on outside. We parked under the building,,, terrible view of some maybe water storage. Room and building had an off smell, room was large but lots of carpet stains... Terrible water pressure and off the beaten path. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A friend and I booked a room here through hotwire, and on the site it said it was a two star hotel. I was expecting something along the lines of motel 8, but was pleased to see that it was actually pretty nice. The hallways and elevators were hot, but the air conditioning in our room was amazing. (It actually almost made us cold, but we like it that way! ) The room itself was nice: two full beds, a TV, a fridge, and microwave. The only thing I have to really complain about is that every night for the three nights we were there, we would try to watch TV and every twenty minutes or so the TV would completely lose signal and take a few minutes to come back on. Our room was also on the top floor towards the back, so that may have been the problem. Overall though, we were pretty satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked this hotel through Priceline months in advance and the pictures/description made it sound and look wonderful. We booked a room with 2 queen beds and a roll away.
Check-In was very easy and pleasant. Our room was on the 2nd floor, on the back side of the hotel. Not a huge deal but I'm pregnant and we had to carry our luggage up stairs as there was no elevator. The hotel was booked already so we weren't able to switch rooms.
The biggest concern was that our bed was a full, not a queen, as promised in our reservation, but we made due. The roll away wasn't in our room when we got there so we requested one and was told it was an extra $10 a night. We had no other choice and had to pay it. The mattresses were wrapped in plastic (as if they were brand new) which means the sheets didn't stay on them during the night and any time someone moved or rolled over while in bed you heard a loud crinkly noise.
The bathroom was long and narrow with the toilet separated by another door, it was basically the size of a closet. The floor in front of the sink was really sketchy, the tiles were cracked and I felt like we would fall through if we weren't careful. The shower was tiny, flat walls, and a very uncomfortable confined space. The water pressure was horrible but echoed through the whole room like it was on full blast.
The breakfast was just so-so. Cereal, pancakes, and few pastries. Nothing to write home about. The seating was limited (tables of 2 only) and crowded.
All in all I don't think I would recommend this hotel. It says it was recently renovated, but I think they are considering new mattresses and coat of paint renovations.
They did have free put-put golf which was nice to do in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Inn at the waterpark Galveston
Did not intend on staying here but La Quinta overbooked. However I was pleased with the customer service I received from Adrian very pleasant man. The rooms were a little shabby but clean. Walls were paper thin I woke up to every noise doors closing, kids hollering, and even people walking down the hallway. Upon leaving my family members met us at the room so we could all travel to the beach together they assisted us with loading the luggage and getting the kiddos together and my niece went to turn in keys they accused us of having a dog in the room because they seen him in a bag on the cameras mindful of that he was a puppy weighing 1.5 lbs who remained in the bag outsde until we left. The puppy was there a matter of 10 minutes they then charged my card twice for almost $400 when I called to talk to someone the idiots who call them selfs guest services couldn't do anything to help. I was told John Roy was the one who did it and I had to speak with him. This was even after my niece explained to him the dog never stayed there i spoke to the other man at the desk and he said yes i know she told me but John made me do it, it was so called for pet fees never again will I stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We do have a pet policy that we enforce for the benefit of all our guest, current and future, and whe we find that pets are smuggled into the buildings, the persons involved are charged a fee of $150.00 plus applicable taxes. I do apologize that you found it nessesary to call my staff names.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Staff OK, breakfast nothing special...lots of stale bread/bagels. But the bathroom in room 102 is 4 feet by 4 feet. No room to even turn around. And the mattress...we were there a week ago for 3 nights and my back is STILL hurting. This place is not worth more than $40/night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at the Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Waterpark

Address: 2525 Jones Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Waterpark 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GALVESTON ISLAND ESCAPE FULL OF FAMILY FUN.The ideal choice for hotels near Schlitterbahn - Galveston.Could there be a better Galveston Texas hotel for family fun? Because it is located right next to Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Adjacent to Moody Gardens, the Inn at the Waterpark is among the best hotels in Galveston Texas for families.The Inn at the Waterpark is one of the more casual, carefree, laid-back and relaxing Gslveston Island hotels with a Family Friendly rates. Economy goes hand-in-hand with our Galveston hotel's comfort and convenience. You will find our front desk offers tickets for Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark.The fact that the Inn at the Waterpark is near Schlitterbahn Galveston and so near Moody Gardens is just the start. Other nearby attractions will keep the family busy for a week of vacation, or a weekend getaway. There's the fabulous Moody Gardens Golf Course, billed as the premier public course in Texas. You'll love the Lone Star Flight Museum right across from Schlitterbahn Waterpark, not to mention the 32 miles of sandy beaches of Galveston Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Inn at the Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Waterpark Hotel Galveston
Hotel At The Waterpark
Waterpark Galveston
Waterpark Hotel
At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn Waterpark Galveston Tx

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.