We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay Before a Cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Waterpark to your Saves list
Inn at the Waterpark
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Jones Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Lebanon, Ore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay Before a Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise. The staff was very helpful and considerate and gave us directions and recommendations. Not much for dining choices in the immediate area. You better have a car or settle for having a pizza delivered. They allowed us to park our rental car there during the cruise at no charge. Clean place with decent rooms. Rooms are very spacious. They provided a free shuttle to and from the cruise. There was a large line to get to the cruise dock but it moved quickly and efficiently. Very rapid service after getting off the ship and going back to the hotel. Their shuttle service is from the Moody Garden hotel near by. I was concerned about that, but my concerns were totally unfounded. Evrything went smoother than I had expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    76
    66
    35
    22
See reviews for
148
27
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belton, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

By staying here, you can leave your car and have free transportation to/from the cruise ship. Rooms were large, free breakfast, free minature golf on site and a nice swimming pool. The front desk personnel were very helpful in ever case. This was a great deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great. The staff were excellent when letting us check in quite early after arriving off our cruise. The rooms are spacious and clean. It is a little out of the way, so if you don't have a car there aren't many food options other than take out. The only downfall about this hotel is the tv's have very bad, fuzzy picture. Other than that no complaints!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninnekah, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our room and everything was great. But we was on the 3rd floor and it was really loud from the people on the 4th floor,call front desk to ask for them to tell them to keep it down which didnt help. We was there form March 28 to March 31. Very noisey but everything else was good. House keeping came by daily and cleaned room and supplied fresh towels, If we ever go back to Galveston we will ask to be put on a top floor. I think you should look at maybe making the back rooms for families with children and the main part for couples or vice versa just a thought

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because its web page said it had transportation to and from the cruise pier in Galveston. This was very misleading. Their transportation is provided by Moody Gardens and when we arrived back in port at 7:30 am, we waited until 10:30 and our shuttle had not arrived yet. A friendly driver from Comfort Inn took pity on us and took us back. We had wanted to get an early start home and had a long drive. When we talked to the desk about this problem, they took no responsibility as they did not provide the transportation. Also, the room was dingy, the carpet badly stained and to top it off, they had made us pay a $50.00 deposit as a security for a clean-up fee. What a joke!! We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms had a shower only, no tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your coments you left reguarding your stay,
We have a set schedule that we explain to all guest choosing to use the shuttle to the cruise terminal. The schedule is as follows: Pick up from the hotel are at 9am, 10am and 11am. When you return from your cruise the return times are at 9:30am, 10:30am and 11:30am. these times are explained to all cruise passengers using the shuttle. As for the $50.00, it is an incidental authorization which is cancelled upon check out minus any additional charges that may have occured during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had 2 rooms in what they call the tower. The rooms were large and clean. However, we were on the 2nd floor and had noise overhead all night long. I complained about midnight but it never stopped. The tower has no view and the elevators were slow as the place was full of people going on a cruise the next day. The breakfast is not much and the second day there were so many people trying to eat that I just skipped the breakfast. Staff was friendly. Just overall disappointed in this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the tower rooms. Walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and two boys shared one room the first Saturday night of spring break.

I read many of the other reviews, so I asked for a room away from the noise.

Pros:
1) Great price compared to other hotels in the same area
2) There was plenty of room for the roll away bed we wanted (3 beds total)
3) Decent free breakfast
4) Free cruise parking
5) Free internet
6) TV had HDMI input so we could watch a DVD using our own player

I hesitate to mention Cons considering the price, but...

Cons:
1) The exterior could use a little sprucing up
2) Not many restaurants nearby

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Waterpark

Address: 2525 Jones Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Waterpark 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GALVESTON ISLAND ESCAPE FULL OF FAMILY FUN.The ideal choice for hotels near Schlitterbahn - Galveston.Could there be a better Galveston Texas hotel for family fun? Because it is located right next to Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Adjacent to Moody Gardens, the Inn at the Waterpark is among the best hotels in Galveston Texas for families.The Inn at the Waterpark is one of the more casual, carefree, laid-back and relaxing Gslveston Island hotels with a Family Friendly rates. Economy goes hand-in-hand with our Galveston hotel's comfort and convenience. You will find our front desk offers tickets for Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark.The fact that the Inn at the Waterpark is near Schlitterbahn Galveston and so near Moody Gardens is just the start. Other nearby attractions will keep the family busy for a week of vacation, or a weekend getaway. There's the fabulous Moody Gardens Golf Course, billed as the premier public course in Texas. You'll love the Lone Star Flight Museum right across from Schlitterbahn Waterpark, not to mention the 32 miles of sandy beaches of Galveston Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Waterpark Hotel Galveston
Hotel At The Waterpark
Waterpark Galveston
Waterpark Hotel
At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn Waterpark Galveston Tx

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.