We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really wanted to give this place a better review, but it's bad.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Inn at the Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Waterpark
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Jones Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early Save up to 25%
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Comfort, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“I really wanted to give this place a better review, but it's bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The staff is nice, the outdoor part of the property is nice, and the location is good, but to give a hotel a good review you have to have decent rooms. These are not. Not to put too fine a point on it, they stink. It's a combo of BO, stale smoke (coming off guests over time, not smoking in the rooms, which is forbidden), the lack of renovation and/or deep cleaning in too long a time, and ridiculous amounts of perfumes used to try to cover it all. I'm not picky, but I almost couldn't stand it. It would be manageable if the windows would open, but they don't - you can't get any fresh air in here at all to clear out the stench.

There also were wall items (picture, mirror) missing, and there were open cuts in the ceiling for the sprinkler system, which made the room look even more run down. In the hall, there were patches all over the ceiling due to water leaks. Also, their towels were dingy gray - they either don't use bleach (and this is a town where people do go to the beach and track in dirt, so they should expect sand and such in their towels!) or they don't replace towels except once in a blue moon.

If view matters to you, don't pick this place. Ugly, ugly tanks and other industrial views will make you jealous of pretty Moody Gardens next door.

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings - the main and a non-connected building with parking underneath. Insist on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, we have reviewed your comments and set up action plans to address your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    64
    53
    26
    18
See reviews for
121
22
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed there to visit Moody Gardens. It was perfect walking distance to Moody Gardens. We had a two day pass and were able to walk back and forth. The rooms were comfortable and all the people were very nice.

Room Tip: Great location to Moody Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stay here everytime we go to Galveston. The Hotel is basic, clean, and quiet. We've never had a safety issue, nor felt 'unsafe'. It is next door to Schlitterbahn, but it's about 3 blocks walking distance to the Schlitterbahn the entry gate, so we still get in our car and drive, but teens can walk it just fine. It is about 5 full blocks from Moody Gardens, but if you can't afford the Moody Gardens more than twice the cost, this is the hotel for you. There is also transportation to the cruise ship terminal, and you can leave your car parked in the hotel parking lot if you spend the night before (they do not guarantee safety though). There is also a pool for guests at the hotel. No Pets Allowed.

The views are nothing to write home about, but it's a place to spend the night that's clean and 'safe' feeling. No tub, but shower has a 3" lip that you can put a washcloth in the drain that you can bathe your baby or young child in (stay with). It has two separate buildings, and we've always stayed in the one detached from the main building, but it only allows entry through a keycard, unlike the main building that registers visitors.

Breakfast is good but go before 8 or after 9 because of seating...cereals including Raisin Bran, Fruit Loops, Frosted Flakes, etc. Bagels, fruit pastries, toast, and a pancake machine that causes more problems than good, so don't count on it. They need two waffle machines to replace the non-working pancake machine. Apple, Cranberry and Orange Juice Machines, coffees, hot chocolate, tea, milk (low fat, reg and fat free, no chocolate).

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The outside of this motel is nice looking with a miniature golf course out front. The lobby is nice and is decorated with a tropical theme. But I was very disapointed with our room. This place needs upkeep and a deep cleaning. The furniture is left from the 80's and has been used hard. A paint job would help a lot since there are dark marks on the walls and doors. The shower curtain was all wrinkled and had dark spots on it. The fiberglass tub had been repainted but the paint is now chipping. The dust was about 1/4" think on the exhaust fan. There was a light bulb out over the sink. The carpet had stains. One of the lampshades was all dented. The beds squeak. The outside stairs were damaged and made me wonder about their stability. The parking out front is limited and we had to hunt for a spot. On the good side, it was a suite type room with a small table and chairs, microwave, refrigerator and a one cup coffee maker. They have flat screen TV's. We were in the front building so I don't know if the back building is better or not. Breakfast was about average. As far as I'm concered, this is a $50 room. Unfortunatly, I didn't know better and payed more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toody703
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a great stay at a great price. The rooms are nice, big and clean. We suggest you ask for a room in the new addition, there is parking below the addition and elevators with keyed entry. There is free breakfast with pancakes. They are within walking distance of Moody Gardens and another attraction, but is a few blocks off of Seawall Blvd (that's how you are able to save). There is also a mini golf course on the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new addition, there is parking below the addition and elevators with keyed ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I would stay here again in the off season. Rooms are clean but you can tell that some of them are older like chips and peeling in bath tub. This is not on beach but several blocks away but is convenient to seawalll blvd. Great location if you are going to water park and moody gardens.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel was just ok. I would only go back if I got a good deal on my rates. It was pretty clean and the staff was generally friendly. The location is a little off the beach, but only a five minute drive.

There is complimentary breakfast, not the best that I've had.

The room I stayed in was very large and spacious. There was only a walk in shower with a curtain, which made showering a little awkward. It was small, and hard not to get water all over the bathroom.

Overall, if you can get a good deal and you're just looking for a clean decent place to stay then I would recommend this hotel. Otherwise, you might not be happy here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Waterpark

Address: 2525 Jones Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Waterpark 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GALVESTON ISLAND ESCAPE FULL OF FAMILY FUN.The ideal choice for hotels near Schlitterbahn - Galveston.Could there be a better Galveston Texas hotel for family fun? Because it is located right next to Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Adjacent to Moody Gardens, the Inn at the Waterpark is among the best hotels in Galveston Texas for families.The Inn at the Waterpark is one of the more casual, carefree, laid-back and relaxing Gslveston Island hotels with a Family Friendly rates. Economy goes hand-in-hand with our Galveston hotel's comfort and convenience. You will find our front desk offers tickets for Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark.The fact that the Inn at the Waterpark is near Schlitterbahn Galveston and so near Moody Gardens is just the start. Other nearby attractions will keep the family busy for a week of vacation, or a weekend getaway. There's the fabulous Moody Gardens Golf Course, billed as the premier public course in Texas. You'll love the Lone Star Flight Museum right across from Schlitterbahn Waterpark, not to mention the 32 miles of sandy beaches of Galveston Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Inn at the Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Waterpark Hotel Galveston
Hotel At The Waterpark
Waterpark Galveston
Waterpark Hotel
At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn Waterpark Galveston Tx

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.