We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Howard Johnson” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Galveston

Howard Johnson Express Galveston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Galveston to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Galveston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8216 Harborside Dr., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Galveston
1 review
“Not the best Howard Johnson”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

With the name of Howard Johnson, we expected a better room. The room looked nasty. The tile floor in the entry way and bathroom were slippery, probably from cleaning the floor with the wrong kind of cleaner. We were going to take a shower before we went to get aboard our cruise ship, but the bathroom looked dirty. Like it could use a real good scrubbing. So, we waited until we got on the cruise ship to take a shower. We drove 10 1/2 hours to get there, so we could get a good nights rest and get cleaned up before going on the cruise. And we could not get cleaned up or rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    40
    19
    30
See reviews for
67
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Room was clean and bed comfortable. This is not a Hampton Inn or Fairfield Inn, but was a good value at the Hotwire Price of $65 including tax and fee and for a Friday night was less than half the price of a Hampton or Fairfield.. Rooms are not that sound proof so would not recommend for a light sleeper. Included a microwave and small refrigerator. Location was about 10 minutes from the seawall. Coffee was good and reception person was VERY pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Promised/paid for roll-away bed, but they didn't deliver. My adult son had to sleep on the floor in a sleeping bag. Maintenance needs work. The phone in the room didn't work. The bed linens were stained, burned, and torn. We had a view of marsh/train tracks. The AC was very loud. The beds were very hard. It was pretty much what I expected from one of the cheapest hotels in Galveston. That said, we didn't want to spend a lot on the hotel room so that we had more money for our vacation. They are one of the few Galveston hotels that allow five people in a room, just be prepared to make sacrifices for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

For $60 a night what do you expect.Rooms need a major overhaul.Beds are okay.AC needs to be fix.Breakfast was nothing to write home about.Housekeeping ladies are very nice to talk to.Might,or might not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Galveston

Address: 8216 Harborside Dr., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Galveston Hotel Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
Galveston Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.