We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site ( you eat or fish on the water ). Food is terrible. Worst gumbo I ever had in my life. French fries were awful.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's on the Pier

Jimmy's on the Pier
9001 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
409-974-4726
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 261 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great site ( you eat or fish on the water ). Food is terrible. Worst gumbo I ever had in my life. French fries were awful.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

You pay for the view but the food is not good at all. You eat on a pier on a double deck. You have the feeling you are on a boat deck. This is very nice. You enjoy the view, breath the nice ocean air ( if someone is not smoking next to you, which happened to us !!!!! ), service is slow so you have even more time to enjoy the view and watch people fishing on the lower deck. But when food arrives , you are disappointed !!!! My gumbo was awful, my daughter's clam shower soup was worst, my wife's fries were ugly and not good. Well, you pay for the site and the view but do not expect good food. Waitress was nice and helpful. If you eat at restaurant you can then take a walk on the pier visiting people fishing people for FREE !!!! Otherwise you need to pay . One more thing , if you pay $10 for fishing , then you can get 10% discount on the restaurant above.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    64
    44
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilgore, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Missing the Shrimp Already”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Although they were a little under staffed they did all the could to get to us as quickly as possible. The wait was definitely worth it! Everyone loved the food, and I especially loved the fried shrimp.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Maybe next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I ordered the grilled snapper. For $18, I expected at least a decent piece of fish. It was inedible. I took one bite and gave it back, and decided to eat somewhere else. The bartender, (I ate at the bar), was very nice once this happened, and took care of it. She was not so attentive prior to that. Not sure I'd order food there again, but would return for a drink, perhaps.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Get cocktails and call it a day!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I live in Galveston and have been here twice. First time with immediate family and second time I took out of town guests who were in town before their cruise.

The first visit they were woefully understaffed. As a result we waited nearly an hour for a table. Then the food was very snack bar-esque. Disappointing. The staff didn't seem especially concerned--management or wait staff. Also disappointing. But we really wanted to like it and to support a new local business.

So when the guests arrived I suggested Jimmy's. We needed wheelchair accommodations and since federal law requires such accommodations, I felt no need to call ahead. When we arrived we were told the standard accommodations were normally downstairs but because they were having a job fair that day there were NO accommodations available. Who does that?



But the views are stellar. If you're not wheelchair bound and can get to the top level to see them.

Go for a drink or to fish and go elsewhere for food and service.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiki Island, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice view- bad service, blah food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We walked in yesterday and hostess seated us- several open tables and three servers plus a bartender and hostess working. We started looking at the menu- two more tables were seated after us- both of them had drinks before ANYONE realized we were waiting- isn't that why you have a hostess? Then we ordered an appetizer and she took our food order- they all came out together- that is the servers fault and she blamed it on the kitchen- sorry they made them all together- well if you turn them all in of course they did! Wings were good but $8.50/5 makes them pricey! Burger was fair. Grilled Redfish for $17.99 was blah, steamed veggies were YUCK frozen junk! Tots were fried beyond fried- they tasted awful! Service needs a serious shake up! I might go back when it's warm to have drinks outside over the water- but skip the food and service!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's on the Pier also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Jimmy's on the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's on the Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.