We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay....Pre-Cruise.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Galveston to your Saves list
Travelodge Galveston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3924 Avenue U, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One Night Stay....Pre-Cruise.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night before a cruise departing from Galveston. The weather was cold and very windy and we were pleased the heating was on in our rooms.
Our rooms were clean and comfortable, yes some areas around the room and bathroom could have been better finished off/decorated but this did not affect our stay in any way.
The hotel is a budget hotel, very reasonably priced and for that we did not expect fantastic service or facilities or an array of toiletries in the bathroom.
We would stay there again..one night pre cruise as it was ideally located and close to restaurants for eating out dinner and breakfast.
For the price we paid the hotel was what we expected and we had no problems at all like others have noted on this site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    84
    79
    105
See reviews for
146
68
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PASADENA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were there for the Galveston motorcycle rally, so the value and sleep quality wasn't there, but overall, we were pleased with our stay and plan to stay there next year. The housekeeping staff was very good!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay g, General Manager at Travelodge Galveston, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
thank you for staying with us ,and hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENTON
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Rooms needed a good mopping and dusting. Ours reeked of old moldy mildew. The owner seemed put out to have guests. Definately not friendly. No conditioner in room, only 5 bottled of shampoo. This place needs and overhaul and some major hospitality adjustment. And for the price we have to pay, I would expect at least a little more cleaning to cover up how old everything is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Looked nice from the outside, but rooms were not very nice and filled with bugs. The room smelled like Ben Gay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galveston

Address: 3924 Avenue U, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets allowed for a fee charged per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galveston Hotel Galveston
Econo Lodge Galveston
Galveston Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.