We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Galveston to your Saves list
Super 8 Galveston
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2825 1/2 B 61st Street, 61st Street & Seawall, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Point Venture, TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is an older hotel that's recently been nicely refurbished. Large rooms, very clean, furniture was a very good condition, beds were very comfortable, heat/air conditioner was very quite, everything was well maintained. About a block from the beach we were very pleased to find the rooms (we rented 2 of them) to be fresh smelling and not dank/moldy smelling like so many seashore hotels are. We've stayed at other hotels in Galveston and this was certainly a good value given the location and the price. The main drawback for us was that the continental breakfast was somewhat lacking in that it did not include any fresh fruit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    68
    70
    36
    42
See reviews for
98
72
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

After reading some of the older reviews I was hesitant to stay here, but the La Quinta's we usually stay at were too expensive this time. We had a large clean 2 queen room with great beds and roomy bathroom. The walls were nicely painted, the a/c was great and the Wi-Fi was very fast.

The location on 61st street near the seawall is a good one, but there is virtually no view of the Gulf. The breakfast was meager--toast, cereal, bagels and mini-muffins. I would avoid that because there are too many other options nearby.


For the price it was a steal. I'm thinking of going back this weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

My son and I have used this motel for the past 6 years because we always go to Galveston for our vacation spot and used this motel. This year we were gonna go Memorial day weekend but decided to cancel. The saturday we were suppose to go, I received a call from Super 8 with the lady saying we had a reservation but I told her no I canceled but she argued with me and hung up on me 3 times. When we finally got to the motel the week of June 7th for our week long stay, the bed was too firm and the pool was nasty, cloudy and had hair floating on the top. We were on the first floor and the people above us were noisy when I was trying to get to sleep at 11 pm. I called to complain and the front desk said they would take care of it, but the noise continued and it also continued each night we were there. We didn't get to finish our trip in Galveston because of an accident but I'm sure I will never stay at Super 8 again because of the continous noise, hard beds and dirty swimming pool. I was terribly disappointed because we never had a problem with them before.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

As part of a driving trip I persuaded my spouse to spend a couple of nights in Galveston. As we have always had good luck with Super 8 motels (have been staying at Super 8's in every state since 1985) and had a coupon for a really good rate we decided to take a chance. We were surprised as some of the other reviews I have read about this particular establishment were not very flattering. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was continental but the room had a fridge and microwave so we just went to WalMart (2 blocks)and picked up a few things. The room was clean but smelled exactly like any hotel on a beach smells (from Myrtle Beach to Mexico) so we were not bothered at all. It does not have a restaurant but does share a parking lot with Waffle House.

Overall this is not a high-class hotel (also does not have a high-class price) and it is awkward to get into and out of but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The pool and spa were filthy and only got cleaned after the health department closed them down. There were actually pieces of the chlorine shed floating in the pool! No attention was paid to the condition of the pool at all until the health dept. came. The Baymont next door was closed down too, same management. We wasted most of our trip here; each day they told us it was going to be cleaned. I wish I had taken pictures. Ugh. We finally gave up moved to Best Western, which had a lovely pool. Who goes on a vacation wthout expecting to use the pool? They told me it was the fault of the guests, for swimming with oil and sand on them! In a beach town-what idiots. They also told me the pool wasn't part of the price-it was an extra bonus for no charge. I wouldn't stay anywhere on vacation that didn't have a pool, would you? If you are going to stay here, I suggest you make sure the pool is open, and the spa works before you make your reservation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, TX
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

My children, husband & I walked into the room and roaches were crawling everywere. They were in the bathroom, on the carpet crawling around, crawling up the the walls, and the bed sheets. My daughter pulled the blanket back and roaches started crawling out from under the blankets We got our bags and checked out exactly 5 minutes later. They did refund our money. But this was a roach motel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, TX
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

My fiance and I stayed here one night during a Texas Road Trip in July 2009. Our check in was fine & the staff was nice. The room smelled musty & the carpet felt dirty (wear your sandals). The room had a nice, clean bathroom area & everything in the room worked. Cold AC was Great!!! The pool was pretty nice too. Breakfast was cereal & muffins.. no complaints there.

The only issue I had was parking in the front. It was difficult to get in and out (and we have a Honda Civic). Overall, not bad for the price, just look at it as a luxury dorm room! :o)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Galveston

Address: 2825 1/2 B 61st Street, 61st Street & Seawall, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Galveston Hotel Galveston
Super Eight Galveston
Galveston Super Eight
Galveston Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.