We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price was right, thats all that was!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Galveston to your Saves list
Super 8 Galveston
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2825 1/2 B 61st Street, 61st Street & Seawall, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    65
    69
    36
    41
See reviews for
96
70
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We didn't come here for ambience or glamour. We came here to have a stopping place while we roamed the island and to spend the night. The room was updated to Super 8 standards and it served its purpose. Rooms are costly on the island anyway so if i could have afforded it i would have gone someplace else but this wasn't that bad for the night. Everything worked and we had all we needed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Super 8 looked like the management was in the middle of an upgrade then just stopped or thought they had done enough.

Remember that most of these hotel chains are franchises and are completely untouched by any sort of corporate entity so the management are the only people who have control over the property.

That being said, ive come to find that when staying at these sort of motels (which seems to be too often), the experience is always quite random.

Location - the location is very good and is only a few blocks from the beach on Seawall Blvd. Since Seawall Blvd is one of the main streets on the island, there is all sorts of things in the area. Restaurants, Bars, Grocery Stores, Shopping Centers, etc. Most everything you need during a stay in Galveston is right there. Its simple to locate from the highway as well. Just one turn from the highway and after a few lights, your there. Although, it sits directly behind a Waffle House which i found somewhat strange. You have to literally drive through the Waffle House parking lot to get to the motel entrance.

Property - The property is pretty much just old and run down. nothing special. we've seen it before. didnt knock my socks off.

Service - I have to say, the staff at the front desk was very professional, polite, and mad my check in a breeze. I had my room keys in about 5 minutes from walking in the door, after getting a quick run down of the property and the area.

Rooms - The room looked nice when I walked in the door. The furniture looked pretty modern, how it looks on the website pics. The room had a sort of art deco vibe to it and had lots of colors, upgraded headboards, window treatments, and different colored accent walls. The bathroom looked like it had gone thru an upgrade with a nice stone finish shower stall, a nice tile floor, and chrome hardware throughout (towel racks, handles, etc). standard coffee maker, hair dryer, and ice bucket and cups in the bathroom sink area
There room was really big with 2 queen beds, a table with 2 chairs (instead of a desk, i guess), a 4ft floor lamp in the corner, a long entertainment center, mini fridge, and microwave.
Now, with all that stuff, you would think it sounds like a pretty nice room, right? Well, it was. But then again it wasnt...

The room was pretty filthy overall. It had that grime that an old building gets over the years. Dirty light switches, worn carpet, shabby bed linens (my sheets and bedspread had a few tears and marks on them), even though the bathroom was upgraded, the bathtub drain was clogged or something because it would fill up while showering, then leave a nasty film in the tub when done. The a/c temperature was VERY hard to control. No matter what temp it was set on, it would either be too hot or too cold. the a/c vent was also disgustingly dirty and moldy so the air had that slight musty/moldy smell when the a/c would be on for awhile. With all the room upgrades they attempted, they forgot to upgrade the tv. the tv was a 27" OLD SCHOOL tube tv with a remote that barely worked. The walls near the door were somewhat dirty and other places on the walls looked like they had repaired holes and painted over them with a slightly different color. The beds were uncomfortable, the pillows were flat, and the sheets and pillowcases were stained and torn in places. The room was basically like a Monet. Looks better from far away. Bottom line it was pretty gross.

Amenities - apparently all Super 8's now offer this standard set of property amenities.
1.) pool. i didnt go to this pool but it looked small and like every other motel pool that i dont go to. just go to the beach
2) continental breakfast - same continental breakfast you see everywhere else. cereal, muffins, donuts, juice, coffee, package oatmeal, and maybe some oranges and apples. nothing special.
3.) free wifi - i usually praise motels for having free wifi but this super 8 just should do away with theirs. its so SLOW. i think i got 1mb down speed. it might have been less than that. checking emails was like using dialup.

This wasnt the best stay at a motel and it wasnt the worst. if they completed whatever upgrades they were working on, it might be a good place. Oh and they should give the rooms a deep clean to get rid of that grime.

The Beachcomber motel is next door and offers the exact same amenities, prices, and location and is a much cleaner property. ive stayed there in the past and having to stay in the Super 8 with the Beachcomber right outside my door was rather depressing.

Room Tip: stay at the hotel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were really disappointed with our stay. These hotel really needs updating. bugs found several times in our room. Phones did not work in room, so heaven help you if you need 911. We were trying to save money but not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Bedspreads shabby, hard to find, got a handicapped room don't know why.
Was not sure if all people in parking lot or pool area were guests of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Galveston

Address: 2825 1/2 B 61st Street, 61st Street & Seawall, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Galveston Hotel Galveston
Super Eight Galveston
Galveston Super Eight
Galveston Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.