We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille

Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille
327 23rd St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
(409) 762-7299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 241 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bossier City, Louisiana
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It's all true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The portions are massive. And delicious. The crawfish étouffée was rich, the red beans and rice was wonderful, and the bread pudding. OMG. Fortunately we planned to have dessert and put our food into to go boxes. Go early not a tourist place, locals go here to escape

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    93
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crab cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant when I mentioned my craving for shrimp. Everything we tried was tasty. Loved the shrimp crab cakes & fish tacos! Nice casual atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Black Pearl was recomended to us by several neighbors who rave about lunch special.- we got there to late for lunch but had fried shrimp poboys and the best fried okra ever. Nice place , excellent service. We will be back .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oysters oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Highly recommend two appetizers: oysters 3 ways and the pirates bounty. Plenty of food for two. The oysters diablo and Rockefeller are outstanding. Our waiter was very efficient and knowledgeable of the way the food is prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsons Station, TN
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good Food Off the Beaten Path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our Hotel front desk clerk told us this was one of the good seafood restaurants in the area. This is more of a neighborhood bar than regular restaurant. It's not very big but don't let that deter you from visiting here. The seafood has a Louisiana influence with dishes like BBQ shrimp and Etouffee, both of which we had. They were both good but not great. We did start the meal with an order of onion rings which were very good and finished with an order of bread pudding which was also good. It was busy and the service was a bit slow but we enjoyed our time there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Pearl Oyster Bar and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.