We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great cruise ship stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Stewart Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
amarillo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great cruise ship stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

very friendly and helpful staff. great price for a stopover before boarding the cruise. great location, all the seawall shops and resturants and close to the strand. free cruise ship parking in parking garage, Staff helped us with transportation to the cruise. Will stay there next time.

Room Tip: good hotel with free covered cruise ship parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijal M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you staying with us. We are happy to know your enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.

BJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    81
    36
    13
    10
See reviews for
90
82
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed in the Gulf view suite. It was anything but "suite". One of 2 air units did not blow cold air, maintenance came and fixed the last night. My room keys had to be made 3 different times because they didn't work upon returns to the room. Explained twice to the desk person that keys were not being deaccesed next to my phone. One day, someone decided to acrylic spray paint a refrigerator, leaving a cloud of fumes all through lobby and elevators. Sorry asthmatic guests. To look out one gulf view window meant the T.V. would shut down, to look out another, meant the hall lamp would short out. Hot water was minimal and water pressure was less. Bathroom and 2 person jetted tub was nice though. Bring your own pillows unless you like hard and firm.

Room Tip: Jetted tub or jacuzzi suite because your back may need the massage after these beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Diamond member of Best Western (which means we stay at Best Western many, many times throughout a year) have NEVER encountered a more rude front desk person at Best Western or any other hotel for that matter. Will not stay at this establishment and will not recommend to anyone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Staying here in the off season and the price is only $48 a night. I choose this property because it's at the east of Seawall Blvd and away from the main rush of people but easy to get to all of the attractions. The renovated rooms are very nice and updated, clean with high ceilings which makes the room feel bigger. Nice workout area and pool. The breakfast is compatable to other continental breakfast bars at other hotels. My first night here, the people in the room next to mine were very loud and noisy. The night time manager took care of the issue and those people were gone the next day thankfully. My one negative is that the hot water does not get hot enough for my taste but overall it was a great place to stay for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor so you can get a better view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Average property for a Best Western. Will say staff was nice and even upgraded us to an ocean-view when we booked a standard. Breakfast was slightly below avg. on choices and quality. Of course you pay more than you normally would for a hotel like this because of its location across from the beach. It would cost at least $100, more like $175 a night more, to stay at a 4 or 5 star hotel. Location close to UTMB was our reason for staying since we were in town to attend events there and hotel pickings are slim in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights with our youngest son. We were very happy with the hotel. The staff were very accommodating and helpful, the breakfast was very good, and the location across the road from Stewart Beach was very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

By the way, we booked this hotel through Priceline and got it for $25 less than the advertised price on the BW website.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Let me just start by telling you about our check in...the lady at the front desk (Heather) was so high on whatever drugs and/or additional medication she was taking she continued to put her head on the desk to take a nap during our check in. After hearing her complain about how she was feeling it took 27 min. to check in. Throughout this check in she punched the wrong keys, actually said she didn't "understand how to do this", and we were over charged by almost $500!!! When we spoke to the manager the next day he never apologized and seemed to not know what was going on around him. The morning desk clerk (Victoria) was absolutely wonderful and tried to fix the situation explaining how Heather had over charged us (we had already pre-paid through hotwire). It seemed like she was trying to keep everything together because the manager wasn't doing a thing to help AND continued to look confused and still never spoke one word to us.
On top of being over charged and treated like we were crazy for being mad that we were just charged this much, the stay there was terrible. For the two days that we stayed the night we were unable to sleep because of the housekeeping. They starting banging on doors before 9:00 and while they were cleaning rooms they would scream down the hallways. Not only were the mornings crazy we were unable to go to bed until 1 and 2 in the morning because people were partying in the hallways. It was awful.
And lastly, when I went to the front desk to get fresh towels (we had asked house keeping not to clean our room) the woman at the desk told me "No". When I asked her why she told me she needed our dirty towels. When I brought the dirty towels to her she let me know this was not her rule and that she had no intentions of touching our dirty laundry!
Stay anywhere else if possible. I cannot believe how we were treated throughout our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach

Address: 102 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Stewart Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn And Suites By The Beach
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach Hotel Galveston
Comfort Inn Stewart Beach
Comfort Inn Galveston
Galveston Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.