We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier

Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier
6101 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
+1 409-744-8365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 39 Attractions in Galveston
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family friendly fishing pier. We offer rod rentals, bait, cold drinks, sno cones, wine, cold beer, margaritas, snacks, pizza, hot dogs, gifts, and lots of fun. In addition to having a pier for fishing, we also have an observation deck for those who dont want to fish, but want to sit above the water and enjoy the cool breeze of the Gulf of Mexico.
Euless, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Wandered on to see what it is was like. We did not actually fish, just purchased a drink and watched the other fishermen. Our daughter loved being able to see the fish first hand. Also gives a great view of the Seawall at night.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    37
    16
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Rude staff, overbearing rules, too high off the water”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have fished piers in the area for decades. Yes, I'm old, so I know a friendly business when I see one, this ain't it. Two pole limit, and no pole over 10 feet long. Bring a cart? Unload it and move it quickly. You MUST use their pole holders for long rods, even though they damage the rod handles. Never again!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin K, Owner at Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We charge $10 to get on the pier. We did have some issues with our employees, but we have made some "adjustments" and I think you will be pleasantly surprised if/when you decide to return. As far as the fish, I can't do much about that, they do catch a lot of big bull redfish, 2-6 foot sharks, pompano, speckled trout, mackerel, and lots of other species. Still watch out for those hardhead spines though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Tx
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Whether you feel like fishing, or just sitting back with a drink watching, you will enjoy this!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna, Texas, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

You can fish for just $10-$12. The bait shop has everything you need. You can fish all night if you want.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lots of fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

You can always catch fish here. If you have a shore pole and can cast well, you can catch a black tip shark.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston's 61st Street Fishing Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.