We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch stop for a veggie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mcalisters Deli

Mcalisters Deli
6612 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2027
409-740-3200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch stop for a veggie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

It's not always east to find good veggie food in the states and certainly not good healthy options but Mcalisters more than fitted the bill. The dollar cookies were also delicious. Would certainly eat there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“unhelpful staff, food allergy sufferers beware!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was excited because I have food allergies and this place was rated on an allergen site as being knowledgeable and helpful with food allergies, so was looking forward to a good meal. This is a counter service place, so we headed to the cashier and I asked about my allergies, I should have just walked away after the cashier looked at me blankly and said she didn't have any idea what I was talking about. But I preserved and asked for the manager or someone else who might have an idea. She disappeared and came back to tell me what the manager said, no manager showed up to help. So, I went on this and ordered what was supposed to be "safe". Everyone at this restaurant that worked there had a scowl on their face!! We took our number and sat down, the food was delivered, I again asked if the food was free of the allergens I'm allergic to, I got a shrug. I took two bites of the food and my mouth started itching so I didn't eat anymore. A person (maybe the manager) with a scowl on her face came over and asked me why I wasn't eating the food, and I explained about my allergy and they just turned around and left!! That was it, I dumped the food out in the garbage and we left.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is like a panera bread deli except they have great loaded baked potatoes. Deserts look very good. Wide variety of food. Music was loud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Always love this deli and this one is no different. Great sandwiches and soup.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Try the chicken and dumplings and the New Yorker sandwich. Both are really good. This Deli is right across from the beach, so has a great view of the ocean.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect sized plates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Order your meal at the counter and seat yourself either in the spacious restaurant or on the terrace. Friendly staff will bring your food shortly. The prices were very good and the menu is huge.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mcalisters Deli also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Mcalisters Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mcalisters Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.