We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, free entertainment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry

Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry
502 Ferry Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
361 749-2850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 88 things to do in Galveston
Attraction details
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun, free entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

You can't beat the ferry for a fun, free thing to do in Galveston. Drive on, park your car, get out and go up top to enjoy views of dolphins, huge ships, seagulls. Locals using the ferry stay in their car, but we who can't get enough of the water, get out! You can drive off, turn around and return to Galveston Island at the end. It's about 30 minutes each way. Certain times there is probably quite a line to get on but the times we have gone it has not been a problem. Try it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    337
    82
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A MUST! And yes, it's FREE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We wouldn't think of going to Galveston and not taking the Ferry ride! So nice to stand on viewing decks and watch the sea birds and dolphins all around. Ride is smooth and I've gotten some of my best pictures from these decks! We take our car and drive the 4 or so miles to Stingaree Marina for a Po Boy lunch, walk along the shore, or even drive all the way to Winnie. Even if you need to ride over and straight back, I recommend. Laid-back, pretty scenery, peaceful, quiet time!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Different experience - Dolphins....!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had a ferry experience in Seattle long time back.
This was a different one as seeing the dolphins swimming along side the boat was an amazing view.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“FREE competes with the best of for-a-fee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Two trips to Galveston within 18 mos...once with another couple...we consistently rate Bolivar Ferry as one (if not 'the!') best memories from our visit!

Drive across or just park your car and ride over and back as a pedestrian (our choice)...for FREE!!! Ferries leave every 20 minutes or so, and the waiting area is comfortable and clean.

But the RIDE!!!! Take a loaf of cheap sandwich bread or a pkg of flour tortillas or saltines to toss to the seagulls from the back of the boat - so much fun! We share with other families and all the kids - it's delightful! And you also have a great chance to see DOLPHINS from the ferry! We saw a half dozen on our last trip! Kids of all ages will love watching the pelicans swoop and seagulls fight over your airborne treats and the dolphins are way-cool! Lots of photo ops for cruise ships and other vessels, too, and the ride is just long enough to make you appreciate the return trip and want to do it again... maybe even during your same stay in Galveston!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanco, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Ferry Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Off season ferry Loading was quick and efficient. The crossing only takes about 15 minutes but saw many species of sea birds and some dolphins. Take stuff to feed the gulls but beware.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry also viewed

 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.