We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Boat Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry

Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry
502 Ferry Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
361 749-2850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Attractions in Galveston
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Other
Attraction details
Fallston, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Free Boat Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Today we drove through Galveston on our way to Louisiana via coastal roads. Prior to getting on the Galveston-Port Bolivar Ferry, we bought 2 loaves of bread at a dollar store. We didn't wait too long to board the ferry........not more than a few minutes. After the ferry took off, we grabbed a loaf of bread and went to the back of the boat to feed the seagulls. We got them to eat out of our hands (gotta raise them high above your head). Used up a whole loaf of bread. Lots of cheap fun for 20 minutes or so. We also saw dolphins along the way. Just a word of caution......if you're going to feed the birds, it's a good idea to have glasses on and keep your mouth closed while looking up at them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    294
    70
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas, Usa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice change in Galveston”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Port Bolivar Ferry runs from Galveston across to the Bolivar Peninsula, and from there you can get to some nice beaches nearby and to some of East Texas' best bird and animal reserves (although they are over an hour drive away). The Ferry ride itself is fun, you do get to see dolphins, particularly near the Galveston side on our day, and free. Nothing particularly special but certainly a change from Galveston seawall area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“20-25 minutes of free ocean view fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We have used the ferry so many times over the years that I couldn't count. There's always something to see on the water: dolphins, seagulls, ships, shrimp boats, Seawulf park/submarine, etc. Stay in your car to ride (motor off), or walk around the perimeter of the ferry and see the ocean sights. You can walk upstairs to a deck area, and have a higher view (inside or out). There are restrooms available upstairs. My kids enjoy looking for the lighthouse on the Port Bolivar side, or feeding in-flight birds bread or crackers right from our hands. You can walk or take a bike across as well. Sometimes there can be quite a wait (an hour
or more) to get on a ferry such as holidays, busy weekends, and events like Mardi Gras. Other times you can drive right on within a few minutes. You never know until you get there. Most days
they have at least 2 ferry boats simultaneously transporting people from landing to landing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas
2 reviews
“Fun Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Sometimes you have to wait a bit, but it's an experience. We've seen dolphins several times too. Bring some bread to feed the birds...but only from the back of the boat

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best bang for the buck in Galveston (i.e. free)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Enough said. Plus, you're almost guaranteed to see dolphins. And if you feel like getting pleasantly soaked, find a place at the front of the boat.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry also viewed

 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston - Port Bolivar Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.