We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good history of Galveston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 21 Theater

Pier 21 Theater
2100 Harborside Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
(409)763-8808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 52 Activities in Galveston
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
Attraction details
Nashville
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good history of Galveston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Prior to getting there, I'd read about the different films being shown and had planned to see "The Great Storm", which was about the first hurricane to hit Galveston. I didn't realize that all the different movies were in one theater, so that means if you have a particular one you want to see, like I did, you need to be there at the time they're showing it.

Shows are throughout the day, so if you have one you want to see and it's not the next scheduled showing, you have to wait just a little bit for the next time.

I got lucky and arrived 10 minutes before the next showing that I had wanted to see. The woman at the counter was really nice. She asked if I'd parked nearby and if so, I could take my ticket to certain restaurants and get discounts.

The show was short but not too much so. I really liked it, too. Very informative and historical. I hadn't even thought about how the people in Galveston had never experienced a hurricane, and what their lives were like during and after it hit. Very fascinating.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Interesting but thought it would cover more history.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We watched the movie expecting to see the history of more then the major hurricane (sorry can't think of the name) that struck the island years and years ago. We would have liked to have seen the history after that and then information on hurricanes this century like Ike. Kinda interesting but could have been better.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncanville, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Entracing film of the 1900 Storm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Learn about what Galveston was before 1900 and how much devastation it endured after The Great Storm. Hurricane Ike we find is very much like that storm in effect and recovery. Well done.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good for learning Galveston history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having read the book "Isaac's Storm" we wanted to learn more about the 1900 Hurricane that destroyed Galveston. The county historical museum was closed for repairs so this was it. I think I expected the movie to be more high tech than it was, or have more dramatization in it, but it was still very interesting, and the historical photos that showed the devastation were mind boggling. It is hard to get too much historical detail in a half hour movie, but it was enjoyable as it was. Look for Pier 21 theater brochure/cards in hotel lobbies etc where other tourist attraction's brochures are featured. If you find one, there is a coupon on it for $1 off up to 6 admissions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A small theater but a learning experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a small theater which covers what happened in the early 1900s. Worth the visit. It does not take up much time and you learn about Galveston's history. It does not take up much time and gives you a back ground of the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 21 Theater also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Pier 21 Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 21 Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.