We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The West End Restaurant & Sandbar

The West End Restaurant & Sandbar
21706 Burnet Dr, Sea Isle Marina, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9603
409-497-4152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was hands down one of the best meals we have ever had. We were with a party of 13 and it was no problem! We are huge foodies and try different restaurants all the time- came here twice, wish we would have found it sooner in our stay. Staff were great, food was some of the best seafood I have ever had. Would definitely come back again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We had a pizza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were staying on a rental about mid way on the island. We stopped at Went End (it does not look like much on the outside or inside), but we had the best pizza on the island.

If your traveling mid island Galveston, give them a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pricey - Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This restaurant was very near our rental house - view over the marina and sound. Basic service. Entrees are the main feature. Good, but pricey. Average of $18 for dinner. Could have been better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small place with a marina view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Doing it again, reviewing local restaurants when I said I wouldn't. We had a great meal fresh fish and wonderfully cooked. Wine choices were reasonable, we did not expect to find such a nice place amongst the beach houses of Sea Isle. Waitress was so helpful. If you are up to it you can go downstairs to the Sand Bar and have a cold beer and listen to live music. Recommend you get a reservation if you go at the weekend

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worse crab cakes and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were excited when the menu labelled their crab cakes as award winning. We are a sucker for good crabs but were extremely disappointment by what arrived at our table. Two small crab cakes barely an inch across with a flavor so bad, my companions spit them out. Tasted like they had been placed in a freezer, unwrapped, for a long time and fried in old oil. When we finally we able to flag down the waiter to tell him we could not eat them, his comment was he did not care for them and took them away. No, may I get you something else or apologize for the problem. Another server finally came by and said the had BEEN talking to the kitchen trying to get them to throw them away. This is unacceptable to serve something you know is bad. On top of the poor food quality, service was horrible as well. Never received the horseradish or lemons we asked for and we continually heard the wait staff apologizing for one thing or another around the dining room. Will not go back here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The West End Restaurant & Sandbar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The West End Restaurant & Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The West End Restaurant & Sandbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.