We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn Galveston Beach

Save Saved
You added Country Inn Galveston Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Country Inn Galveston Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #36 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great location, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

As a resident of Houston, TX and a life long visitor to Galveston, I can highly recommend this hotel for location. Parking is ok, although I was harassed by a homeless person -when mentioned to front desk, they were quick to shoo the person away and threaten to call police. Room is clean and the beds are one of the best I've slept in, the corners of the room were covered in cobwebs and dust, and I found a necklace -which leads one to believe housekeeping isn't doing much of a job. Breakfast was terrible. Cheap styrofoam -in a city that promotes "Clean Green & Pristine" as well as recycling. The food wasn't impressive unless you were 3, or didn't care about what you eat. Basket full of cream cheese and not a bagel in sight, and a gross vat of watery yougrt that was not appetizing at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisgalveston, General Manager at Country Inn Galveston Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear McCallister, Thank you for taking the time to post the response. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    28
    21
    25
See reviews for
68
45
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The first day of our stay, Housekeeping ignored making up 1 bed, washing coffee pot and cleaning bath. Night clerk Malcom was informed that night, he said he would take care of it and wrote it down on book for the morning manager. Second day after being gone all day, we came back and this time housekeeping ignored the room completely!! everything was just as I had left it: no clean towels, trash cans full, beds unmade, dirty coffee pot, floors with beach sand. Malcom, again, said it was the manager's fault. He said he was the middleman and maids were gone, gave me towels and told me he would give me bedding so that I could make up my own beds. I asked to be moved to a clean room. He said there were none. That was a lie, I went online, checked and there was at least one room same rate as minefor that night. I CAN NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL BASED ON THIS REAL BAD, BAD EXPERIENCE!

Room Tip: Room was okay, just make sure that you tell the manager that morning before you leave to make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisgalveston, General Manager at Country Inn Galveston Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Tania, Thank you for taking the time to post the response. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Well kept motel and well situated to the beach, dining, and shopping. The Country Inn is on the Wall close to the Pleasure Pier. With our room on the east side the lights of the pier were fun to see. The free breakfast is OK, The young lady at the desk was not very knowlegable about the Galveston area and what attractions to see, but I guess maybe that is not her job. We had a very nice room, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for an east side room on one of the upper floors. Be sure that if you park in the lot that all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved to stay at country inn and suites close to the pleasure pier in Galveston.Close to everything , resturants, pier and rooms have view of the gulf. The country inn had all the amenities of a home with the luxury of daily maid service. Staff very friendly and greeted us with a smile everytime . Perfect! we are coming back again,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to galveston last weekend and stayed at country inn . Staff was very friendly, they told us about the resturants nearby. We ate at Spot and went to Pleasure Pier. Enjoyed this gateaway with my kids and family.

Room Tip: rooms on 5th floor have a beautiful view, ask for a room on pleasure pier side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The employees were awesome and the service as well we hope to come back soon!!! As soon as we walked in I was greeted by an awesome staff. The team was very helpful. The rooms were nice and clean. The pool was lovely although I was at the beach side most of the time of my vacation I really would like to.come back and a

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Upon my arrival I was welcomed with a smile. I believe the ladies name was Eva that checked us in. She was very respectful and knowledgeable. The rest of the staff was great. Room was clean and comfortable like I was at home. Really enjoyed ourselves and will gladly stay at your establishment again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn Galveston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Galveston Beach

Also Known As:
Country Inn Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston
Country Inn Galveston Beach Hotel
Address: 2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Galveston Beach 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn Galveston Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn Galveston Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.