We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to complain about..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn Galveston Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn Galveston Beach to your Saves list
Country Inn Galveston Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Dallas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not much to complain about..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed on the 2nd floor with a view of Pleasure Pier which has a very large ferris wheel which has changing colors. There is a small bar between the hotel and the ocean so your view is a bit obstructed by the roof of the bar if you are on the first or second floor. Our room was clean and the the hallway smelled clean. We had a king sized bed with a desk, microwave and fridge and a wall mounted flat screen tv all for about sixty dollars (off season rates). We also liked that there were plenty of pillows. Our only criticism was the limited tv channels.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you want an unobstructed view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    55
    38
    31
    37
See reviews for
103
62
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The cutomer service is horrible! I am not a picky person, and I travel frequently. The hotel has a horrible smell and is very dirty. I spoke with the general manager Dee about several other issues, and she was not helpful whatsoever. We were basically told to deal with it or go elsewhere. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone ever!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisgalveston, Front Office Manager at Country Inn Galveston Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Our goal is to ensure that all our guest leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us .We are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Rest assured, we will address this and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.
I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleridge Nebraska
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here as it was close to the beach and it was our sons first trip on a cruise. Came in a couple days early to enjoy Galveston and check it all out. When I reserved our room I specifically asked for a room overlooking Pleasure Pier and higher up. I was told yes no problem. Upon checkin we were told there were no rooms available any longer on that side of the hotel. The gal at the desk was somewhat nice but not the most pleasant. Got to our room--2nd floor--pillowcases were dirty with something black on them. When I went down to the desk it was a different gal and she was much more friendly. I asked her about the room and she told us that on the side where pleasure pier is they are all single beds and none that are double. Why would you do that in a hotel. We had plans of leaving our car while we were on the cruise but the looks of some of the homes on the other side of the street and people working on various things we decided we would park at the cruise pier and make our vehicle much safer. Breakfast was alright, food was warm but not hot. Hot tub should be called a warm tub instead. Room was alright but have been to better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhite4152
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked here the day before leaving for a cruise, with the understanding that they offered free parking and a resonably priced shuttle to the cruise terminal. Yes, parking is free. The problem is, until Sunday when cruise passengers get back, there is no parking to be had, not in their lot, on the street, anywhere. With this in mind we skipped their shuttle service and parked at the cruise terminal for the week. More expensive, yes, but we knew what we were getting. A tough lesson.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. All of staff friendly and polite EXCEPT front desk clerk Angela. Her rude attitude with a very contemptuous tone puts a sour note to all. Would stay again if she weren't there. Average to good breakfast. Comfortable and clean rooms.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When we reserved a room here, we were told that they had adequate parking-WRONG! Hotel is located just off the seawall and surrounded with commercial establishments, cafes/bars and a decaying residential area. Upon arrival around 4:00PM, there were no parking spaces in the parking lot and the hotel's reception gave us a "red parking permit" that "would allow us to park on the street without peril from being towed or hassled by the police". Well, as we learned, the hotel only had street parking on a very limited portion of the streets that were "theirs" and those parking spaces were already taken. After dinner we returned to find absolutely no parking places and were told that the "red parking permit" was not valid on the opposite side of the street and to the hotel's credit, we were allowed to park under the hotel's porte cochere. The story continues as on the following morning we found the car blocked on all sides by other cars that were parking within the designated fire lane and had to wait until those cars moved to move our car. Not only were we detained waiting for the cars to move, but the entire hotel was placed in jeopardy by having no access to the hotel by the fire department since the fire lanes were clogged with parked cars.

Otherwise, the hotel is just a basic sleeping room with nothing to write home about and its location is not where we would feel comfortable parking the car on the street overnight even with the "red parking permit" on the dash.

If coming to Galveston again we will seek a better choice of accommodations than this hotel.

Room Tip: I cannot give a tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisgalveston, Front Office Manager at Country Inn Galveston Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Country Inn and Suites By Carlson. We appreciate your feedback and will definitely use it as we continue to improve our property. I apologize that you found some areas of the hotel not to your satisfaction .We look forward to having you return in the near future to see that we follow through with our guest recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel sits close to the pleasure pier. Thats all it has going for it. The room was dirty, toilet sea broke. AC filter filthy and dirt hanging out of unit. The carpet in the room (309) was stained and filthy. The linens on the pull out couch were dirty and had goldfish crackers in them. The balcony overlooked the front roof line and has no less than 500 cig. buts and cigars on the roof. The front desk staff told me that If we smoked there would be a fine. We dont smoke and noone appears to listen anyways. Booked through hotels.com and the pictures and description were missleading. Stay away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisgalveston, Front Office Manager at Country Inn Galveston Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Our goal is to ensure that all our guest leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us . We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Rest assured, we will address this and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn Galveston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Galveston Beach

Address: 2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Galveston Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn Galveston Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn Galveston Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.