We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have been traveling for 25 years and this is hands down the worst.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn Galveston Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn Galveston Beach to your Saves list
Country Inn Galveston Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I have been traveling for 25 years and this is hands down the worst.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived at 2:15 in the afternoon and were told that our rooms were ready but if we wanted to check in before 3:00 it would be an additional $30 fee. So we loaded back up and took the family to lunch rather than pay the additional $30. The desk clerk basically told us that if we didn't like it we could go somewhere else. The clerk was also very threatening about if we smoked in the rooms or on our balcony, even though we informed them that no one in our party smoked. When we finally did get checked into our rooms it only go worse. One of the rooms was under construction and should have never been rented. The other room, the bathroom had hair on and debris on the floor and didn't look like it had been properly cleaned. It had been a long drive so we just cleaning the bathroom ourselves. The carpets were stained the beds were shoddily made just an overall appearance that they didn't care.
Hot Breakfast was included in the price of the room so the next morning we went to the dining area. It was a mad house of people. There were people standing around all over the place waiting for a place to sit. Most of the food was gone as soon as the cook delivered it. The food consisted of watered down powdered eggs, waffles, a small selection of cereal and toast. Their juice dispenser was out of OJ and the place was filthy. Having booked our stay weeks in advance and already paying for it we were pretty much stuck. I don't think there was ever a time during our entire visit that I walked by the front desk that someone was not there with a complaint going unresolved. The front staff is rude and condescending basically preying on out of town tourist.
The next morning we made sure to check out early to avoid any penalties as we were warned by other guest that this hotel has a reputation for charging for another full day if you are one minute late. After we returned our room keys I requested a receipt to confirm that we had checked out on time. The clerk REFUSED to provide me a receipt. I asked to speak to a manager and to my amazement the desk clerk picked up the phone and called 911. After calling 911 the clerk called her manager. I asked if the manager was on the way and she rudely told me that someone will be with me when they get to it. I waited about 10 minutes, the manager never arrived but the Police did. There were two officers. One took me out front to ask me what happened. When I told her that I had requested a receipt and when refused I requested to speak to a manager she kind of rolled her eyes as if "yeah right" there is more to this story. She asked if I was abusive or used profanity I told her no I just asked to speak to a manager. She took my information and her partner come out about a minute later. She asked him what happened. He told her, "he wanted a receipt, but the clerk would not give him one so he asked to speak to a manager". Both officers apologized for my inconvenience and asked me to go ahead and leave to avoid further complications.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisgalveston, Front Office Manager at Country Inn Galveston Beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experiences you had during your stay. Being sold out the night before we were trying to get the rooms ready.As check out time is 11 a.m and guest sometimes request a late check out as well so in no way the rooms can be ready at 12 p.m when you requested to check in so that was the case why a request for early check in was not entertained. Also as you had booked the room thru a third party site , they would provide you the receipt for your stay at the hotel.The same applies for housekeeping, where we try to ensure rooms are comfortable and clean with room inspections by the executive housekeeper after they are cleaned by the room attendant. However, I have passed on your comments to the appropriate department managers for review and all actions will be taken to correct these problem areas. I would like to thank you again for your comments and suggestions and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    56
    38
    31
    37
See reviews for
103
63
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McAlester, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I booked this hotel through priceline.com. This was a girlfriend trip for 5 women and two teen age girls. We stayed here the night before our cruise. I made numerous calls to the hotel before booking. The staff was as friendly and accommodating in person as they had been on the phone. I will definitely stay here again. Very nice motel. Clean. The breakfast was good. The staff very helpful and kind. Excellent location. The beds were very comfortable and the nights rest before cruising was great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 12/08/12 for one night, made the fatal error of getting in late. No parking, not that they have much anyway. I found myself parking 2 blocks away with so happens some other hotel guest in the same boat as me. Then the real fun began, none of our keys worked on the outside doors! Keepin mind its 2 am and I had to walk 2 blocks in an unfamilar town, in the dark only to have my key not work!!! Ok finally made it to my room to find pubic hairs on the back of the toilet, & hair in the tub. BREAKFAST WAS A JOKE, IF COULD CALL IT THAT(NO WONDER IT'S FREE). BEST PART OF MY STAY WAS LEAVING THE HOTEL.























  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at Country Inn & Suites before cruising out of Galveston. We booked directly through the Country Inn website (tip: sign up for their Club Carlson to get discount offers via email. We got a nice cancellable rate that was lower than any publicly available rate that applied to the dates we needed to stay). Although a Handicapped Accessible room was not an option when I booked, I did note it in the special requests on the reservation.

We arrived late at night, after 11pm. Although the front desk didn't catch the special note about our needing an HA room, they were able to move us to an HA room for both of our nights. Tip: When making a special note on your reservation, call the front desk to make sure they see it.

I got my parents settled into the room then returned to the front desk for some coffee. The pots were almost empty, so the clerk made fresh coffee. Gold star for that! In the meantime, my parents had trouble with the room thermostat, so the clerk went up to the room to reset the thermostat and got that running right. Another gold star.

Our room with 2 Queen beds and HA bathroom (standard tub with shower chair) had a lot of space. There was a fridge and microwave. The internet worked fine. The best part was our balcony overlooking the seawall and pleasure pier. And the day of our cruise, we walked out on our balcony and could see our ship!

Breakfast was fine with make-your-own waffles, yogurt, cereals, breads, oatmeal, and there may have eggs and a meat but I don't remember.

We didn't use the indoor pool, but I did go in to investigate and the chlorine in the air was so overwhelming when I opened the door to the enclosure that I walked right back out. It was way too strong.

No issues with check-out or parking.

The hotel is in a good location and I would definitely stay there again when visiting Galveston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the seawall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The room was clean and the hotel was centrally located but management needs to give the staff lessons on customer service.

We chose to stay in Galveston for a day after a Disney cruise. Making the reservation, we noted that we would be arriving very early in the day. Indeed we arrived by 10 am. The front desk staff acted like we were a huge imposition. We requested to store our luggage while we explored Galveston and made the not-so-unreasonable-request that we could have a room as soon as one could be made available. We returned to the hotel after 2 and were told no rooms were available. We sat and waited in the lobby and then watched as others arrived and were given room keys. A call to the hotel's headquarters yielded a call to the front desk and a room key.

The rest of the stay was predictably unpleasant. The hot tub was not functioning per Murphy's Law and breakfast items were empty upon arrival. Had the actual breakfast items been available, the breakfast would have been enjoyable. One can only wait so long for virtually all the items to be replenished before resorting to cereal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Country Inn for one night in September 2012, prior to taking a cruise. I was very impressed with this hotel. It was very clean and well-maintained. The lobby was gorgeous! There were no issues with the room. I made the reservation online and requested a room on the 4th or 5th levels, but ended up with a room on the 2nd floor. However, we still had a balcony with a good view of the ocean. Pleasure Pier is a short distance away, as well as several gift shops and restaurants. The hotel allowed free parking during the week-long cruise, as well as shuttle service to and from the cruise terminal. Our shuttle driver was polite and friendly, and made us feel very comfortable during the ride.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on one of the two upper levels (4 or 5) facing Pleasure Pier. But, as ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed there in June. Awesome. Great Beach location. Clean rooms, great staff. Service was excellent. Stayed there this past week. Even asked for same room-got it. Felt like I walked into Twilight Zone.
-Ceiling in bathroom had dirt-black mold like substance
-Fire Alarm (Turned out to be false) awakened us at 5:30 a.m. Hey, those things happen.
-Smoke Alarm in hotel room awakened us at 5:00 next morning
-AC never worked unless cranked down to 68. Hotel staff said they would take care of it.
-Asked for change on last night to do laundry in their hotel. Lady said they do not normally give change-or we do not have it-or I could go to a convienent store at 11:15 at night. Huh?
I said do you normally have change? Her reply, "no, uh-uh, not tonight. We do not give change normally?" WHAT? It is money for your machinery.

End of my stay with this Hotel and Carlson

Room Tip: Rooms facing beach are awesome, especially rooms on 4th-5th floor. Try and ask for room numbers in 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn Galveston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Galveston Beach

Address: 2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Galveston Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn Galveston Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn Galveston Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.