We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum

Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum
Harborside Drive & 20th St, 20th Street at Harborside Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409/766-7827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 Attractions in Galveston
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ocean Star is a retired jackup drilling rig that offers a fun, hands on way to learn about the offshore oil and gas industry in a comfortable and accessible facility. The museum features three floors of models, exhibits, equipment and interactive displays illustrating the story of offshore exploration and production. This self guided museum is open seven days a week and offers visitors the unique opportunity to board an actual offshore rig. Welcome Aboard!
Hermann, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was fascinating to learn how a drilling rig works and learn about the lives of the crew. There were three levels of the museum and actual rig to be toured with lots of interactive points. Great for all age levels of learning.

Visited October 2012

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    103
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Definitely worth the hour or so we spent in this oil-rig converted museum. In addition to the comprehensive info about the different types of structures, there is also a very detailed explanation of all the phases of oil operations from exploration to extraction. The exhibits also broach the more controversial aspect of oil drilling which is the impact on the ecosystem and the environment. The museum has been set up so that everybody, with or without technical background, find it educational and informative.
I was also amused by the vintage "parking meter" in the parking lot. Check it out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We learned so much about how rigs are placed and how they work Met some delightful people along the way. Did not dislike anything about it. Very informative. Great learning experience for everyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Fascinating to learn about how oil is extracted.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The museum was interesting and full of many kinds of visual aids to help a person uunderstand the how iol is extracted from under the ocean's floor and all the challenges that are faced to accomplish that task. My brother was a long and is in the oil business and he was fascinated by the off shore aspect of the drilling.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Interesting way to spend a couple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Since neither of us knew much about oil drilling we thought this would be an interesting museum for us. Boy did we learn a lot. After we were through we were able to identify various boat types and drilling structures that were in the harbor.

I don't think it is good for people who are not interested in learning since it is really and educational thing and not an entertaining thing. We had gotten the additional recorded tour and think that really added to our experience.

I loved seeing all the different types of equipment. I do wonder if some of the technical things (computers and such) need to be updated. It looks like things I worked on 30 years ago.

They took a very complex subject and broke it down in a way that made it understandable. It took us a little over 2 hours.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.