We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cool place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum

Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum
Harborside Drive & 20th St, 20th Street at Harborside Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409/766-7827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 Attractions in Galveston
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ocean Star is a retired jackup drilling rig that offers a fun, hands on way to learn about the offshore oil and gas industry in a comfortable and accessible facility. The museum features three floors of models, exhibits, equipment and interactive displays illustrating the story of offshore exploration and production. This self guided museum is open seven days a week and offers visitors the unique opportunity to board an actual offshore rig. Welcome Aboard!
Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice, cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

We went here waiting on the dolphon tour and I am glad we did...it is right next to many things at the pier 21. I am glad we did this cause you cpuld go in or outside and I have a 1 year old so I could keep her inside and therewas plenty to look at inside while the rest of the family could see the things outside. The one thibg is there is alot of reading to do and my kids kind of rushed through. The models were awesome. It is alotof info to take in bit the value was not bad I would do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    103
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
globeseeker007
Top Contributor
962 reviews 962 reviews
541 attraction reviews
Reviews in 323 cities Reviews in 323 cities
1,029 helpful votes 1,029 helpful votes
“Very educational and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This museum is very educational and informative especially for those with a mechanical or engineering background. I'm sure you've all seen these oil rigs in the Gulf of Mexico and other places around the world. The Ocean Star is a rig that once operated in the Gulf and is now a museum. It has three floors inside the museum. On two of the floors, one can go outside and view additional parts of this amazing rig. Included with the admission fee is a thirty minute movie. We spent a total of two hours in the museum. There is a lot to learn and absorb here. One can see actual models of drilling rigs and drill ships. There is even an area which features living quarters on the rig. When we were there, classes of students were coming through. We enjoyed the time we spent here and now know more about the workings of the offshore drilling industry.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You don't know what you're missing until you've been there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is by far the most unique attraction in the Galveston-Houston area.
Admission price was very reasonable and for a family of four (2 paying adults, 2 paying children) you get a discount. Children 6 and under are FREE! Plus, IMO, this place has the better gift shop out of the entire historic district.
We almost skipped the place despite the good reviews, but with a little local recommendation we decided to give it a go and we weren't disappointed!
This museum definitely compensated for the lackluster restaurants, overcrowded beaches and nightmarish traffic we had to put up with.
The videos and exhibits will just blow your mind away when you see what man is capable of. It will also give you a good giggle when you see their "Hall of Fame" since it's really a who's who of special interests and government kickbacks.
Despite all that, the museum gives you a deeper appreciation and respect for the technology and hard working people involved in the oil industry. It's as much fun for kids as it is for adults. Trust the reviews and put the museum on your to-do list in Galveston. You won't regret it.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Interesting, Hands On Museum Though Marred By A Lack of Balance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Our family of 4 (12 year old son and 10 year old daughter) visited the museum over the 2011 spring break. The museum exceeded our expectations for educating us about the many elements of offshore drilling and had many interactive exhibits that our son, in particular, enjoyed. Whether it was posing with the mannequins in the deep water dive suits or manipulating models and other interactive exhibits, the kids had a great time and my husband and I also found the exhibits interesting. What was notable, however, was the museum's failure to mention any of the downsides of the industry. This was particularly obvious because my daughter brought and hoped to complete the Oil Rig badge requirements for the Junior Girl Scout badge. You'd think that would be an easy task at a museum dedicated to the oil industry, right? However, not so. It turns out the Girl Scout badge was as biased as the museum! For all the Ocean Star Museum neglected to touch on any of the environmental risks of the industry, the Girl Scout badge failed to mention any of the positives with activity after activity focusing on oil spills. The only place the two perspectives intersected was on the careers and skills necessary for being in the industry. Ultimately, our visit proved to be a great opportunity to talk about not just the benefits and risks of oil, but also needing to be critical about any museum or organization's perspective in order to hear both sides of the story. So definitely go, but encourage your older children to think about what's missing and discuss how the museum would have been even stronger if they'd acknowledged the impact it has on the environment and what they do to mitigate that.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffshoreRig, Manager at Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Thank you for this thoughtful feedback. We do intentionally have a pro-industry focus, as the museum grew out of the need to highlight the positive aspects of offshore drilling and illustrate the technology and history of this important industry. There is an abundance of information out there regarding the drawbacks of fossil fuels and the media certainly highlights the problems that can occur. However, we recognize that true understanding requires personal contemplation of multiple viewpoints and our long range exhibit plans acknowledge this. Museums and the information presented ought to be a continual work in progress! I especially appreciate your comments about the "oil up" badge, as we struggle to provide workshops for girl scouts and stay within our mission statement and their project guidelines. We did participate in a national effort called "girls go tech" a few years ago that attempted to overhaul the scout curriculum and bring it more up to date. Boy scouts have "geology" and "energy" as topics we can readily meet at all age levels. Unfortunately, the girl scout topics are structured differently and prove challenging for us. Best regards ... keep reviewing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent overview for the person who loves tech! Maybe iffy for younger kids. A lot of reading, but very informative!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This self guide tour was a very good detailed account of all the different parts of the oil industry. Great replicas of different types of oil rigs! You could spend as little or as much time as you wanted. Also it was a very clean and well kept!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.