We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia the Grill at Pier 21

Olympia the Grill at Pier 21
100 21st Street, Harbor House Hotel, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
(409) 765-0021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Olympia the Grill at Pier 21 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located on a working harbor with a great view of vessels going up and down the channel and dolphins frolicking in the bay. The best seafood and view of the sunset in Galveston. We offer private dining for between 10 and 300, and have accommodated many large functions such as the Commemoration of the USS Fort Worth, many weddings, bachelorette parties and rehearsal dinners. We are also within easy walking distance of the Strand on Pier 21.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My family ate here last week during Spring Break. It was a very nice experience all around. The food was excellent. The service was great. We especially liked the Greek dip appetizer that came with hummus, tzatziki, and another one that I can't remember. The Greek dishes were out of this world...and the seafood my wife had was great, too. You will not be disappointed at Olympia...

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    91
    30
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mancos
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Greek good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had drinks at the bar (bartender Kim was very professional) and dinner in the dining room. They have a nice patio when the weather is good. The lamb shanks were tasty and the tenderloin kebobs good too. The choice of sides was somewhat confusing but we worked it out. Good wines here

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bad Opa”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Ordered the Neptune plate and an order of hummus. Fried calamari was so overcooked that it tasted liked balled up potato chips. Small skewer of grilled shrimp were the smallest shrimp I've encountered in the area. Hummus was disappointing in size and taste. Overpriced for what one gets. Wil not return. Tourist trap for cruise ship traffic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to dinner here the night before our cruise. I had researched it on line. The staff was most congenial and helpful with the menu. My husband isn't into Greek Food but had a wonderful Greek salad. I had a salad with Shrimp. The view on this pierfront location was nice but we were there in December so couldn't really enjoy the outside. The prices were reasonable for the location and the amount of food served. Will try to go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Friendly service with special attention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our tastebuds were craving crab stuffed jalapenos which we were told by several locals were available at the Olympia, however we found out that this dish was only available during happy hour Monday to Friday. The waiter made a special accomodation, spoke to the chef and brought two plates just for us. This was a pleasant tasty surprise. They are in a very light breaded coating. We washed them down with a tall glass of Land Shark beer. This satisfied our craving for now. The view from the outside deck was especially interesting as we watched ships and other craft ply the waters.

In the washrooms, they offer a salt based hand wash, which we both tried and it made the hands feel especially smoothe. They sell jars of the stuff at the front desk for $20.00 which we purchased to take home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympia the Grill at Pier 21 also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Olympia the Grill at Pier 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia the Grill at Pier 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.