We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mango Madness Margarita Happy Hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia the Grill at Pier 21

Olympia the Grill at Pier 21
100 21st Street, Harbor House Hotel, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
(409) 765-0021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Olympia the Grill at Pier 21 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 241 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on a working harbor with a great view of vessels going up and down the channel and dolphins frolicking in the bay. The best seafood and view of the sunset in Galveston. We offer private dining for between 10 and 300, and have accommodated many large functions such as the Commemoration of the USS Fort Worth, many weddings, bachelorette parties and rehearsal dinners. We are also within easy walking distance of the Strand on Pier 21.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mango Madness Margarita Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were at a local bar in the strand, and one of the guys there sitting next to us told us about the restaurant and bar, he works there. Told us to check out the Mango Margaritas 3.00$ during happy hour! The Restaurant sits right off the pier, beautiful views of the Gulf. The place was Gorgeous, great customer service, and in the bathroom they have a body scrub that you can try, they sell it there. I cannot tell you what an Amazing scrub ths is! It left my hands and arms so incredibly smooth, soft, and smelly yummy, with a light coconut flavor, I regret not buying one! I will definetly be back for a meal and buy some scrub to take home!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    100
    38
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great dinner, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We got a referral to Olympia at Pier 21 for dinner while out for lunch. We were told it was a great local place with fresh seafood.

We did an urbanspoon reservation on-line not knowing how busy it might be. Turns out it wasn't busy, so I laughed and asked for the only open table by the window. It was reserved, we found out for us. Nice!!

A great dinner with lots of options. We went with the Posieden's Platter. We did course one for all four of us. Then our teenagaers went with different entrees. The food was excellent. The service also very good.

Funny that the time that we want to lounge and take our time, the waiter was always at the ready.

I would recommend this great restaurant. I want to go back for a sampling of the greek specialties!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pleasant Greek Restaurant with Very Good Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

A pleasant, tasty Greek-American restaurant viewing the the Galveston channel. Good wine list, very good service. Busy but not crowded on the evening of Saturday before Christmas. Free parking with validated ticket.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Good Food and Enjoyable View of the Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a great restaurant for seeing the deepwater rigs getting revamped in the harbor and enjoying some good food and drink. Just on the wharf a block from the historic district, Olympia has good seafood, greek cuisine and American fare like burgers as well. Everyone will be happy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Find For Something Different And Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'm really glad we ate here because it gave us a chance to try something different besides the usual BBQ, Mexican and Italian we get in Texas. We were originally intending to eat at the location this restaurant has on Galveston's Sea Wall but when we drove by, the view did not seem that great. So when we were walking in the Old Town and saw a second outlet for the same restaurant - we had heard good things about the one on the Sea Wall - we decided to eat here.

We sat out on the verandah - the view is quite industrial but still gives a strong sense of place, especially on a nice day.

Food was great - we started with a feta and spinach Greek pastry and it was delicious (you get four for $7.99, I think). After this we shared a grilled chicken pita wrap. It was great, although I thought there could have been a bit more flavour in the tzatziki sauce. But that could be because I'm just used to a store bought brand. We shared a baklava for dessert. Everything was lovely. The pita was an especially large portion of meat, and it was easy something you could share.

The service was impeccable. The restaurant and bathrooms are incredibly clean and well maintained. We didn't eat inside but it looked delightful and was festively decorated for the holiday season.

Go here - it's a chance for something different from your usual Texan fare and the location is fun.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympia the Grill at Pier 21 also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Olympia the Grill at Pier 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia the Grill at Pier 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.