We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility and great location, but lunch was under staffed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston Island Convention Center

Galveston Island Convention Center
5600 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
(409) 941-1010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 88 things to do in Galveston
Attraction details
Magnolia, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice facility and great location, but lunch was under staffed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We recently attended the Arcadiacon convention here. I absolutely love the location right on the beach and the facility was up to date and nicely cared for. However, they only provided 2-3 staff members to provide lunch to over 2000 attendees! It was ridiculous! They kept running out of things and both days the lunch involved waiting in line 40 minutes to an hour! If you plan an event here, make sure they will provide a steady stream of food and more staff to serve it. The buffet dinner we had one of the nights featured excellent food. There's potential here if they staff appropriately. Also, on the first day of the show, the computer game set up blew a fuse. Not sure if the convention staff failed to communicate needs or if the facility failed to deliver. Would have been nice if the facility had more ability to rope off some lines. They need to get more of that equipment for sure.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Want to get a way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good time to reflect and get away from it all. Very healthy time for my husband and I to get away from it all and be refresh by the ocean breeze.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Conference Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

TCEA Tots and Technology conference was held here. Finally, there was adequate Internet access! Number of staff was greatly increased by the Convention Center. Attentive, and helped buffet lines flow quickly. Food was good. I wish coffee had been provided during the day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“API Summit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice little convention centre. Some of the rooms were a little too small but there were lots of large rooms though. Great service from the staff

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Great experience and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was there for an anime convention, so there was a lot of rowdy teens, kids and adults there. The staff was professional and everything was easily accessible, they even put out more tables and chairs for people to relax on. Clean bathrooms, good atmosphere and professional.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Island Convention Center also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Island Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston Island Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.