We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“guide from hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Mansion Museum

Moody Mansion Museum
2618 Broadway St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409-762-7668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 attractions in Galveston
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This elegant late 19th-century mansion of red brick, limestone and terra cotta tile, houses a collection of decorative arts, silver and furnishings associated with the Moodys, one of the city's most prominent families.
Crandall, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“guide from hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

First, hours are not posted. Arrived twice-first time gates locked, second time gates open but placed locked. Third time we were too late for tour, "please come back in an hour". So, an hour later we were finally going to get our tour. The guide, arrived and summoned us over and began to instruct us of "do's and do not's". Pretty standard stuff and since we were ALL adults, didn't seem there would be a problem. Many times during the tour the guide spoke rudely and spoke "down" to anyone who SHE THOUGHT was out of line...stepped too far in a direction, she couldn't see two visitors when about 15 of us were suppose to be in the butlers closet. She continued to YELL, come back do not go on and repeatedly was told the two were with the group. We had stepped outside the door due to the crowd. She spoke too soft and when asked to repeat, glared and acted as if we weren't listening. Seriously, I have never encountered a ruder guide in the US or in my many trips to Europe. She never told us her name or I would tell you to never go on a tour with her as your guide. The home is amazing, jus wish the experience had been more informative.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    73
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice old house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

First of all, get the package for Moody Mansion and Bishop's Palace. It's cheaper and in my opinion, worth it. The tour only covers two floors and would be better if it was the whole house. Our guide wasn't very loud and repeated himself a few times. Despite that, they house and its history were very cool. I snuck some pics anyway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A step back in time and an insightful tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I both enjoyed our tour of the Moody Mansion. A few suggestions:

1) yes, you must pay for the tour. You cannot go in the house on your own, nor can you take photos.

2) if you plan to attend an afternoon tour on a busy day, stop by in the morning to buy tickets. When we arrived after lunch on Saturday, we were told that the tours were sold out for the rest of the day. We went back Sunday and were very glad we did.

3) ask for Claire! It takes a special docent to keep her guests genuinely interested, and Claire has a gift for it. Her extra stories made our day.

My sole disappointment was that we could only see two of the four floors of the house. These areas are off-limits due to hurricane damage and fire codes. This is unavoidable, of course, but I would have loved to be able to see the servants' area on the ground floor and the children's playroom on the top floor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dont waste the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

there are better places to go. Once you left one thing they wouldnt let you back in later to see the feedings of the animals. But you are not going to spend all day waiting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“My wife's visit to Moody Mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The tour through the mansion is guided and for someone who likes to take time to look around it is too fast paced. The story of the Moody's and their mansion is very interesting. I would have liked to buy a book there but did not see any. It is a great deal to purchase a combination ticket both for the Moody Mansion and the Bishop's Place ($16, a $4 dollar savings) which is also a very interesting place to visit. The gift shop at the Bishop's Palace does have a variety of books to include the Moody Mansion. I left my car at Moody Mansion and took a very nice stroll on Sealy St. along the beautiful Victorian homes to Bishop's Palace. This is a 20-30 minute walk. The staff at both locations are friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Mansion Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Moody Mansion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Mansion Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moody Mansion Museum to your Saves list