We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“guide from hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Mansion Museum

Moody Mansion Museum
2618 Broadway St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
+1 409-762-7668
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Museums in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Restored to its turn of the century splendor, the 28,000 square-foot, four-story structure was completed in 1895. Today, our guests visit 20 rooms on a tour that depicts the home life of a powerful Texas family. The Moodys established one of the great American financial empires. Based on cotton, it grew to include banking, ranching, insurance and hotels. The mansion is one of the finest places to visit, a trip back in time. Touring the museum should definitely be on the top on the list for things to do on Historic Galveston Island.
Crandall, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“guide from hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

First, hours are not posted. Arrived twice-first time gates locked, second time gates open but placed locked. Third time we were too late for tour, "please come back in an hour". So, an hour later we were finally going to get our tour. The guide, arrived and summoned us over and began to instruct us of "do's and do not's". Pretty standard stuff and since we were ALL adults, didn't seem there would be a problem. Many times during the tour the guide spoke rudely and spoke "down" to anyone who SHE THOUGHT was out of line...stepped too far in a direction, she couldn't see two visitors when about 15 of us were suppose to be in the butlers closet. She continued to YELL, come back do not go on and repeatedly was told the two were with the group. We had stepped outside the door due to the crowd. She spoke too soft and when asked to repeat, glared and acted as if we weren't listening. Seriously, I have never encountered a ruder guide in the US or in my many trips to Europe. She never told us her name or I would tell you to never go on a tour with her as your guide. The home is amazing, jus wish the experience had been more informative.

Visited June 2013
Helpful? 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice old house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

First of all, get the package for Moody Mansion and Bishop's Palace. It's cheaper and in my opinion, worth it. The tour only covers two floors and would be better if it was the whole house. Our guide wasn't very loud and repeated himself a few times. Despite that, they house and its history were very cool. I snuck some pics anyway.

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A step back in time and an insightful tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I both enjoyed our tour of the Moody Mansion. A few suggestions:

1) yes, you must pay for the tour. You cannot go in the house on your own, nor can you take photos.

2) if you plan to attend an afternoon tour on a busy day, stop by in the morning to buy tickets. When we arrived after lunch on Saturday, we were told that the tours were sold out for the rest of the day. We went back Sunday and were very glad we did.

3) ask for Claire! It takes a special docent to keep her guests genuinely interested, and Claire has a gift for it. Her extra stories made our day.

My sole disappointment was that we could only see two of the four floors of the house. These areas are off-limits due to hurricane damage and fire codes. This is unavoidable, of course, but I would have loved to be able to see the servants' area on the ground floor and the children's playroom on the top floor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful? 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dont waste the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

there are better places to go. Once you left one thing they wouldnt let you back in later to see the feedings of the animals. But you are not going to spend all day waiting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful? 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magnificent Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

When I asked for the Broadway Beauty package, which includes the Bishop's Palace and the Moody Mansion, I received a significant discount. Both mansions are worth the time it takes to tour them. The tour guide at the Moody Mansion was informative, humorous, and did not rush us through. She encouraged the tourists to walk around the mansion afterwards and see the stained glass window from the outside. WOW! I'm so glad she suggested that. The stained glass window had a different look from the outside of the home than it did on the inside of the home and both sides were beautiful. The tour guide explained what was done in the restoration after the hurricane of the 1900's and the most recent, Hurricane Ike. This place and the history behind it was truely spectacular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful? 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Mansion Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island

Been to Moody Mansion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing