We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great museum house in Galveston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Mansion Museum

Moody Mansion Museum
2618 Broadway St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409-762-7668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 Attractions in Galveston
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This elegant late 19th-century mansion of red brick, limestone and terra cotta tile, houses a collection of decorative arts, silver and furnishings associated with the Moodys, one of the city's most prominent families.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great museum house in Galveston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

On our tour of Houston we decided to venture out to Galveston and we were happy we did. Galveston is a very pretty city about 45 minutes outside of Houston with plenty to see and do. We love seeing old houses and decided to see a couple while in Galveston. This house has survived multiple hurricanes and looks great. If you can check out this house and it's sister house down the street do so.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    79
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Beautiful house! Our docent was Claire and she was great at sharing her knowledge of the Moody's and their house. It was an extremely enjoyable tour!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have loved our time in Galveston and were very excited about this tour especially after reading the reviews. However, when we reached the Mansion and paid the ten dollars for the tour, which is the only way to see the mansion, we were disappointed.

Our tour guide seemed overwhelmed by the size of the group (about 20 people) and provided very minimal information as he herded us through the mansion (that really is what it felt like.) He would just continue talking without even waiting for everyone to be in the room with him, so I felt we missed a good portion of the information he had to say. What he did say, he repeated over and over again to the point some of the people on the tour were rolling their eyes. Also, the family seemed like they had a great history and plenty of stories could have been told but the tour provided minimal background information about the family (the video gave us the most information in this regard.) Another incident is that we were not informed at all about not being allowed to take photography and when my girlfriend was taking a picture of something about 15 minutes into the tour (after several pictures she had taken right in front of the guide) she was gruffly told that pictures were not allowed.

The mansion itself was very fascinating and beautiful, but it would have been nice to simply pay a smaller fee and walk around on our own. Maybe our tour guide was just having a bad day or is used to smaller groups, and I don't mean to be mean, but this brought down the overall experience.

I don't like to give negative reviews, but my experience here earned one and hopefully the company will look into providing a self-tour option.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Architectural and Historical Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you like architecture and history, I highly recommend visiting the Moody Mansion Museum. Tour was a little long, just over 2 hours, but we got a fascinating perspective on the history of Galveston.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“See the Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

You will get a real feel for the history of this area when touring the Moody Mansion. This family was fascinating and their house is as if they just left it. Our docent was a real trip - she kept mixing up dates but we just laughed with her. The mansion is a perfect example of a typical Victorian mansion of the time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Mansion Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Moody Mansion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Mansion Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.