We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Architectural and Historical Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Mansion Museum

Moody Mansion Museum
2618 Broadway St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
+1 409-762-7668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Museums in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Restored to its turn of the century splendor, the 28,000 square-foot, four-story structure was completed in 1895. Today, our guests visit 20 rooms on a tour that depicts the home life of a powerful Texas family. The Moodys established one of the great American financial empires. Based on cotton, it grew to include banking, ranching, insurance and hotels. The mansion is one of the finest places to visit, a trip back in time. Touring the museum should definitely be on the top on the list for things to do on Historic Galveston Island.
San Diego, CA, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Architectural and Historical Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you like architecture and history, I highly recommend visiting the Moody Mansion Museum. Tour was a little long, just over 2 hours, but we got a fascinating perspective on the history of Galveston.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    109
    20
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“See the Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

You will get a real feel for the history of this area when touring the Moody Mansion. This family was fascinating and their house is as if they just left it. Our docent was a real trip - she kept mixing up dates but we just laughed with her. The mansion is a perfect example of a typical Victorian mansion of the time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Must See When Visiting Galveston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

You must visit this mansion. The guided tour is wonderful and informative. and is highly recommended. Check online for discount tickets and save when you purchase a ticket to tour both the Moody Mansion and Bishop's Palace for only $16 for both tours.

I highly recommend touring both homes before leaving Galveston.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like historic homes, you will enjoy this tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our family of high school and college aged students all enjoyed the tour. Much effort is made to have authentic furnishings and give an accurate portrayal of the family. Pay attention to tour times since this is NOT self-guided. In MArch 2013, tours began at 11, 1 and 3.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a very interesting tour with tons of history. The tour guide was VERY knowledgeable and told us EVERYTHING about every single piece of furniture and room in this house. I personally loved the tour because I love history, but be warned that this tour is very long. I thought it was very interesting and a great pre-cruise activity.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Mansion Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Moody Mansion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Mansion Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.