We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See When Visiting Galveston.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Mansion Museum

Moody Mansion Museum
2618 Broadway St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409-762-7668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 39 Attractions in Galveston
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This elegant late 19th-century mansion of red brick, limestone and terra cotta tile, houses a collection of decorative arts, silver and furnishings associated with the Moodys, one of the city's most prominent families.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Must See When Visiting Galveston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

You must visit this mansion. The guided tour is wonderful and informative. and is highly recommended. Check online for discount tickets and save when you purchase a ticket to tour both the Moody Mansion and Bishop's Palace for only $16 for both tours.

I highly recommend touring both homes before leaving Galveston.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    84
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you like historic homes, you will enjoy this tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our family of high school and college aged students all enjoyed the tour. Much effort is made to have authentic furnishings and give an accurate portrayal of the family. Pay attention to tour times since this is NOT self-guided. In MArch 2013, tours began at 11, 1 and 3.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a very interesting tour with tons of history. The tour guide was VERY knowledgeable and told us EVERYTHING about every single piece of furniture and room in this house. I personally loved the tour because I love history, but be warned that this tour is very long. I thought it was very interesting and a great pre-cruise activity.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Another Historical Home Tour in Galveston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is another impressive home tour in the Galveston area. We enjoy seeing the historical buildings and homes in the areas we visit and the Moody Mansion certainly qualifies in the Galveston area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rock
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited this mansion the day before we left on our cruise. They showed you what would be the basement and the devastation still left from the hurricane. This is a beautiful mansion. They only allow you to enter by having a tour guide. So, make sure you get there early. We were there an hour before the next tour, received our tickets and when we returned both tours for the rest of the day were sold out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Mansion Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Moody Mansion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Mansion Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.