We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Mansion Museum

Moody Mansion Museum
2618 Broadway St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409-762-7668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 Attractions in Galveston
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This elegant late 19th-century mansion of red brick, limestone and terra cotta tile, houses a collection of decorative arts, silver and furnishings associated with the Moodys, one of the city's most prominent families.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a very interesting tour with tons of history. The tour guide was VERY knowledgeable and told us EVERYTHING about every single piece of furniture and room in this house. I personally loved the tour because I love history, but be warned that this tour is very long. I thought it was very interesting and a great pre-cruise activity.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    79
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Another Historical Home Tour in Galveston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is another impressive home tour in the Galveston area. We enjoy seeing the historical buildings and homes in the areas we visit and the Moody Mansion certainly qualifies in the Galveston area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rock
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited this mansion the day before we left on our cruise. They showed you what would be the basement and the devastation still left from the hurricane. This is a beautiful mansion. They only allow you to enter by having a tour guide. So, make sure you get there early. We were there an hour before the next tour, received our tickets and when we returned both tours for the rest of the day were sold out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My sister and I did the 1-2 hour tour with tour guide dujour, Claire (Pat). She is an excellent tour guide and has extensive knowledge of the home and families that lived there. We were very interested and would love to know more about the Moody family. There was a lot of walking and standing (we aren't old but neither are we young) but we would do the tour again, and recommend it to everyone. Claire was great. Really made us feel like we were there and knew the family. And the mansion is very lovely....would have loved to see it when they all lived in it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humble
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“My Dauther loves MM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When we are in Galveston my daughter and her friends love to visit the MM. The guides are super friendly and it is nice to see a little Texas history.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Mansion Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Moody Mansion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Mansion Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.