We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Mansion Museum

Moody Mansion Museum
2618 Broadway St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409-762-7668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 88 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This elegant late 19th-century mansion of red brick, limestone and terra cotta tile, houses a collection of decorative arts, silver and furnishings associated with the Moodys, one of the city's most prominent families.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I don't want to repeat what other reviewers have already covered, but my husband and I did the two plus hour tour with Claire. She is an excellent tour guide and has extensive knowledge of the house and the family that lived in it. We learned so much about the mansion and Galveston and our only complaint is that two hours of walking and standing was tiring. We would include this on your must do list in Galveston.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    97
    18
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Ont Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Height of Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you love the style of the older homes you will love this one. The wood is beautiful and must have been worth a fortune in its day. The old cars that are still there in the garage and some of the dishes in the kitchen such a site to see.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Moody Mansion is fascinating. I had a wonderful tour guide in Claire (aka Pat when she shows you something she shouldn't). She was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. You get a great introduction to Galveston history, hurricanes and culture. You also get some insight into this mysterious and hugely wealthy family. Be sure to stop here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“WORTH the time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Buy "Broadway beauties" tickets for this and BIshops. Palace" check tour times and make sure you are early to get your time. You'll have time for quick lunch at Sunflower ™cafe between tours. $32. FOR two seniors for both tours. Hour and a half each
Guodes were very knowledgeable and since I've owned a Victorian mansion it was fascinating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tour guide was great. Made the Moody family and mansion history come alive. Highly recommend this visit to a Galveston gem.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody Mansion Museum also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Moody Mansion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Mansion Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.