We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5914 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Beachfront Palms Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Red Roof hosted our annual event and the staff was very welcoming and totally accommodating for our every need. The rooms were clean and sufficient and the location along the seawall was perfect! With a Kroger grocery shopping center next door, anything you forgott to pack or if you just want to get drinks and snacks, you can't ask for anything more convenient. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    14
    24
    25
See reviews for
36
30
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This location is awesome. Right across from the beach . Keisha & Toby were great . They went above an beyond to help me . The Manager did more than any management at an hotel I've stayed in. I will definitely stay anytime I'm in Galveston!!! Thank You to the whole Red Roof Galveston staff..

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cleanliness is not the top priority here, we couldn't wait to check out. Upon arrival it took us a long time to get checked in. Then we took the elevator and it felt as if it got stuck. The room was horrendous! Musty-moldy smell, old everything, no couch or arm chair, the carpet had a worn path and was damp. Next door ppl had door open and were chain smoking. if we arrived there earlier I would have gone to a different hotel. Luckily this was for one night only. Really stat there at your own risk, I guess people have different standards for cleanliness. I will say that the front desk service was cordial and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would also like to apologize for the condition of the room that we checked you into. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance staff, and we have been working to correct the cleanliness issues.
I thank you for your nice comments about the staff, and I have shared those as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was by far the best vacation ever thanks to red roof in at Galveston tx very nice service loved the pool and the the people very much respect thanks so much for the best vacation ever had a blast

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for saying such wonderful things about the staff here at the Red Roof Inn Galveston. I have shared your comments with them, and they were happy they were able to make your vacation memorable. We are also happy you were able to enjoy the pool while you were here.
We hope to see you again for your next family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked 1 night at this hotel through a travel agent and were very excited until we arrived in the front parking lot. The lobby was dirty and the front desk girl was rude to the guests in the lobby as well as on the phone.
Our room was filthy! We had 2 queen beds for 3 people but only were given 2 towels and 1 facecloth. I went to the front desk to ask for more and was told they have no extra towels but I was welcome to take a pool towel! The room was a handicapped room.... If we required handicapped accessibility it would have been great, but we're not! The shower nozzle was only about 4 feet high.
Also, they advertise free wifi. Wifi does not exist there! When I asked the man working the front desk, he laughed out loud and gave me a complaints phone number.
I would never ever stay here again!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I would like to first apologize for the condition of the room. We are working with our housekeeping and maintenance staff on improving the cleanliness of the rooms in the hotel. I would also like to let you know that we are doing some retraining with our front desk staff.
I hope you will return on your next trip to Galveston to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College station, tx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Of course when choosing to stay at an Inn one should not expect anything fancy or extraordinary, which I did not, but one thing that I do expect not matter the hotel/inn rating is good customer service.

Upon checking into our room there was a funky smell, the floor was damp, and there was some sort of trash/lint/matter in both beds. We requested for housekeeping to change the sheets and for maintenance to find the culprit for the wet floors. After waiting more than 25 minutes and calling the front desk twice, people arrived and we were greeted with attitude (as if we had dirtied our beds and wet the floors). Eventually they simply gave us a different room, which was indeed better, but the TV did not work and the room was still not anything to brag about.

On the plus side they did offer a continental breakfast, as well as free and ample parking. It is located right across from the beach and they do have a pool. Overall, this is not a place that I would personally stay again, but if you are simply staying for a short period of time then it is fine.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your comments. I will be working with my staff to make sure they are treating every problem seriously. I apologize for that not being the case for your stay.
I hope you will come and stay on your next trip to Galveston, and let us show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are staying here, don't expect anything fancy. This place is fine if all you need is somewhere to sleep. The staff here is amazing however - some of the nicest people I have met and very helpful

Room Tip: We were placed in a smoking room at first, but felt uncomfortable with the smell and location of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your comments on the staff. I will be sharing your observations with the staff to help them keep up the good work.
We hope to see you on your next trip to Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Address: 5914 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Beachfront Palms Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location right on the Seawall at 59th Street, at the beach on the Gulf of Mexico! Free internet, free breakfast, great big outdoor pool in the sun, tons of restaurants nearby, including Tortuga's and McDonald's next door. Free cruise parking. Beautiful garden, great rooms with microfridges, everything you need, why pay more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Best Western Galveston
Galveston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.