We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enter at your own risk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5914 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Beachfront Palms Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
1 review
“Enter at your own risk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We found a toe nail clipping under the bed. The carpet had obvious stains and looked as if it never been vacuum or cleaned very well. Fluids on the bed skirt. The sheets were stained. The shower when turned on it had a red and/or blown tint to it at first. The front desk didn't have extra sheets to exchange. We weren't allowed in the lobby during shift changes so we had to stand in this foyer place and check in that way. We had to pay more for a nonsmoking room than a smoking room. Our room smelt like it was next to a smoking room at least because it wasn't strong but you could definitely smell it. I would never ever recommend this place. Sleep in your car instead because this place is disgusting.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
My apologies that we fell short of your expectations. I have shared your review with the entire staff. We will all work harder to do better in the future.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    13
    20
    19
See reviews for
27
28
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dripping Springs, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was traveling with a small dog and was happy to hear the except pets at no charge! Was bummed there was no hot tub, but was happy when the clerk told me the pool was heated:) I will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the inn. Red Roof Inns are pet friendly nationwide. It is nice to be able to travel with your four-legged family member.

I hope you will stay with us in the future to enjoy our beautiful pool.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needing only a overnight stay in Galveston, I wasn't really worried about much except it being beachfront and cheap. Well, we got that, but don't expect much else. The continental breakfast was toast, orange juice, and mini muffins, the bathroom was dirty, and my friends bed was broken in the corner, so when she would roll to the side it would tip and almost flip her in the floor. For $40, I'm not complaining too much, but definitely will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view...of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We always appreciate the reviews that people take the time to write. I apologize for the bed issue that your friends experienced. We are currently looking at all the beds to locate the issue, since you are not the first to mention it. While continental breakfasts are limited, our also includes cereal, oatmeal, and waffles in addition to the toast and muffins that you mentioned.

Red Roof Inn is an excellent economy hotel choice and I hope you will choose to stay with us the next time you are in Galveston.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mound, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were traveling and looking for a place for one night, close to the beach, and inexpensive. The Red Roof Inn was exactly what we were looking for. After driving all day we were able to park our car in the hotel parking garage and walk to everything we needed, no more driving needed. The beach and fishing pier are right across the street. The hotel is close to several restaurants, a grocery store, Starbucks, McDonald's, Waffle House, and a fantastic Mexican restaurant directly across the street . The hotel offers a continental breakfast in their large dining room which includes fruit, waffles, pastries, cereal, muffins, coffee and juice. The staff was more than helpful and friendly. When we checked in, both women behind the counter were very friendly and welcoming. One staff member accompanied us up the elevator and showed us to our rooms. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. We couldn't receive the local channels on our tv so we called the front desk and the maintenance man came up immediately and fixed the problem. There is a heated outdoor pool in the beautiful courtyard that several people enjoyed while we were there. The rooms were obviously not new, but have been updated and well maintained. When we checked out, Toby made sure that our stay had been enjoyable and invited us to come again. If we are ever in Galveston again we will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for writing this review. I have shared this review with the staff, especially Toby. This inn is in a great location to walk to the fishing pier and to many restaurants, not to mention the Kroger's grocery store next door.

We look forward to seeing you in future visits to Galveston.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forrest City, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I accidentally booked a room at the Red Roof Inn on Priceline (yes accidentally, long story)
After it was booked, I read some of the reviews and was VERY worried!
We arrived late (around 11pm) I had called earlier and they said they would mark that down.
They were very hospitable from the time we checked in to the time left. I called earlier in the day to confirm that it would be a non-smoking room because I am very allergic to smoke. The room did not smell of smoke at all. The bed was comfortable, the service good.

We had NO problems at all. It is not a luxury hotel, but it was worth more than what we paid!
I would have no hesitations staying again before leaving on a cruise!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. It is nice to know that we were successful in providing a nice room at a nice price. I will share your comments with the staff.

We look forward to seeing you for future cruises out of Galveston Island.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago before the change of owner ship. When we stayed 2 years ago there was a giant dip in the bed but the room was overall comfortable. The breakfast lacked everything. This time around we booked last minute and let the booking agency know we would arrive around 2. Upon our arrival we were rudely told we couldn't check in until 3. We killed an hour and came back at 3:10 to be told our room was still not ready and the hotel had overbooked itself due to Mardi gras. We finally got a call from the manager at 3:45 that our room was ready. Upon arrival there was a long line due to only one check in person. When our turn finally came we were passed over for someone who skipped the other 20 people in line and walked right to the desk staying they too had gotten a phone call that their room was ready. Once we got in our room we discovered the left side of our king sized bed was broken. There was no coffee pot and 2 towels. We got stuck next to a room full of idiots who screamed, cussed and threw things all night long. We didn't call and complain to the front desk because face it, if they couldn't get us in a room when we got there, they weren't going to change rooms for us. The breakfast once again lacked anything but dry pastries by the time we got downstairs. When we checked out no one asked how our stay was and the desk almost charged our card again until I pointed out that we paid when we checked in. Needless to say even if it's a bargain deal we will pay the extra and go somewhere that isn't a motel pretending to be a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate all feedback I receive. My apologies that we let you down so drastically at check-in that you did not feel comfortable reporting the noisy neighbors. I have shared you comments with the staff and we will all work better to improve the check-in process.

I hope you will consider Red Roof Inn in the future.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We stayed here two years ago before heading our on a cruise and loved the place. The rooms were clean, breakfast good and the little extras like a cappuccino machine in the lobby made it a great place to stay.
This year the rooms and public areas were dirty. Beds clean, surfaces clean but needed vacuumed especially around the edges. Lobby seating area was dirty. Breakfast was horrible.
I was very disappointed in the changes made since Red Roof has taken over the hotel.One plus - the desk staff was great, especially Michael, but we plan to stay somewhere else next trip.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We will definitely look closer at the edges of the rooms. I appreciate the time you took to let us know where improvement is needed.

Red Roof Inn across the country provide great value for your money. I hope you will consider giving us another chance.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Address: 5914 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Beachfront Palms Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location right on the Seawall at 59th Street, at the beach on the Gulf of Mexico! Free internet, free breakfast, great big outdoor pool in the sun, tons of restaurants nearby, including Tortuga's and McDonald's next door. Free cruise parking. Beautiful garden, great rooms with microfridges, everything you need, why pay more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Best Western Galveston
Galveston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.