We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5914 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Beachfront Palms Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am puzzled by the negative reviews. Other than the lack of towels (and that's not a huge deal) there is nothing to complain about. Nice, clean rooms, great pool, AWESOME coffee (please never change it!) and wonderful staff.

I only have two very, very minor complaints. For one, while I think it's awesome that the hotel allows pets, it might be nice if there was a particular section for guests with animals. I only bring this up because the first night of my most recent stay (August 25-29th) the folks next to our room had a fairly loud dog. Again, not a big deal, but that might be an idea for ya'll to consider. Secondly, it appeared to me that there were no smoking rooms with pool or ocean views. I am not sure if this is deliberate on the part of the hotel, or if I just wasn't looking very well. I do not smoke myself, but my mother does, and I believe that her money is just as good as a non-smokers, and it would be nice if she might potentially stay in a room with a view on future stays.

Again, these are very minor observations, and I can guarantee that I will be back, and that I will recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay on Galveston. The location is perfect, the staff was INCREDIBLY pleasant, the rooms were clean. I do not know why anyone would give this hotel anything less than a 4.5 rating.

(P.S. please, please never change the coffee!)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, yesterday
I love the coffee, too, and will do everything in my power to keep the same coffee. The suggestion for the pet rooms is an excellent suggestion. I am already working on a procedure for pet friendly rooms.

The smoking rooms have been the same rooms designated as smoking for years. Please make sure for future reservations to notate requests, like pool view or beach view, on your reservation. The front desk staff works every morning to find the best room for each guest.

Thank you for your review. I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    9
    11
    11
See reviews for
20
14
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was our first visit to Galveston, we may visit again but will not stay in this hotel. The elevator did not have air conditioning or it didn't work and it was slow, we were sweating by the time we reached the 4th floor! The carpet in our room was frayed and dirty, the toilet ran and the AC unit sounded like a freight train but worst of all there was a roach crawling on the desk. We packed up immediately and checked out!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
I apologize for the pest issue. We work intensely with our pest control company to control all of the insects that come with a warm, coastal area.

I hope you will give us a second chance the next time you are on the island. We are located conveniently near the beach, restaurants and the fishing pier.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here. Our room was clean, cold a.c., plenty of hot water but our bed had a sink hole in the center of the mattress. The shower head was coming off of the wall in the restroom. The staff was very friendly and cleaned my room when we asked them to. The walls are thin. We could hear everything going on outside of our door. Overall, for what we paid, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the bed issue. I have found your reservation and will make sure that maintenance has fixed that. We strive to provide a clean comfortable room for our guests, and the bed is an important part of that.

I hope you will stay with us again when you visit Galveston Island.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a nice stay in a great location. Although not a beachfront hotel, the beach is just across the street from the hotel. There are many restaurants and bars nearby. My room was clean. This is a good place to take a family for a weekend or more of fun. The price was reasonable, less than $80.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a first-floor pool-side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
I love your room tip. The pool side rooms are great to keep an eye on your teens and convenient to go to the pool with the smaller ones. Additionally, the pool with all of the activity keeps children's interest when looking out at the pool.

I look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend for our anniversary. The hotel was clean and they have a very friendly staff. Within walking distance of many restaurants and bars. In my opinion, there were a few things that would have made it better. First, there were only 2 of us, so it wasn't too big a deal, but we only had 1 towel. Luckily, I brought beach towels, so it wasn't enough to complain about. Second, was the breakfast. My suggestions would be the following...If kids come down without parents, send then back up. There were 5-7 unattended kids (ages 5-11 would be my guess) They were making a terrible mess for the gal working there and it was quite disruptive. I would also suggest having a pitcher with ice water. There were several people asking for water and the worker sent us around to the water fountain. She said there was no cold water in the back room. Parking was good, but what's up with all the banquet chairs in the parking lot...it was odd. Our "city view" was of the cemetery, thought it was comical. You know the saying "You get what you pay for" well, if you are looking for a 5-star hotel with an abundance of towels and peace and quite, go pay 250/night for a stay somewhere else. Overall, it was a good stay and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to give an honest and detailed review. Your comments are critical as we work to improve the quality of service and the facilities.

I hope you will stay with us in the future and write future reviews of the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights before going on a cruise. Our room was very nice, king bed, clean, very pretty burgundy accent wall, flat screen TV, cold A/C, lots of hot water, pretty good shower, small refrigerator and microwave, no in room coffee maker, work desk with rolling chair and a table with 2 chairs. Very pretty shower curtain. The morning breakfast was fair, no hot items at all, bagels and muffins, frozen waffles, yogurt and juice, coffee and some cereals. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is a pet friendly hotel so you will see and hear dogs, we saw lots of them and heard one for 15 minutes till he finally quieted down. Very nice pool with lots of palm trees. Lots of parking. We found it odd that there were banquet chairs around one of the poles in the parking lot 8 or 10 of them, not sure why. The main elevator in the hotel was not working and I had read this on reviews for several months before we got here, so it has been an issue for awhile. The elevator by our room worked, sort of, one day it went down to the parking level but the doors didn't want to close, finally after a dozen tries they went shut, and went back up. The ice machine on floor two was not working with a sign on it go to third or fourth floor. On the third day our room cards stopped working and we had to go to the front desk and get them reprogrammed. We did ask for extra towels and got them, some reviews had issues with that. The outdoor walkways halls could use a good scrubbing, someone was using a leaf blower one day to clean them, they could use some scrubbing. Hotel was busy but still fairly quiet except for the occasional bark and kid yelling at the pool. Would be nice to have balcony rooms but most hotels in Galveston face the wrong way for that. Better than what I thought that it would be after reading some of the reviews. I would stay here again. Non smoking room was actually a NON smoking room, no smoke smell.

Room Tip: Non-poolside rooms may be quieter. Easily within walking distance to beach area, grocery store next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I appreciate the detail that you have given on your stay. All your comments assist us in making the hotel better. I wanted to assure you that the elevator and the walkways are being addressed.

I hope you will choose Red Roof Inn for your future travels.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Red Roof Inn while in Galveston for the second time. The staff are very friendly and we especially enjoyed the maintenance man, Justin! He went above and beyond his duties and we appreciated it. :) Great staff!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to recognize Justin. So many of the staff go above and beyond to make guests comfortable and it is wonderful to be recognized for it.

I hope to see you in your future travels to Galveston Island.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Trindade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center

Address: 5914 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Beachfront Palms Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location right on the Seawall at 59th Street, at the beach on the Gulf of Mexico! Free internet, free breakfast, great big outdoor pool in the sun, tons of restaurants nearby, including Tortuga's and McDonald's next door. Free cruise parking. Beautiful garden, great rooms with microfridges, everything you need, why pay more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Best Western Galveston
Galveston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.