We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Frenchboro, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Booked a weekend stay through IHG, and found this HIE well sited and clean. It has everything you need and nothing you don't for a weekend spent out seeing the sights. The AC, tv, and all doors and windows worked, the bed was comfortable, the linens clean, and there was no traffic noise at all. I did have only soft pillows the first night, but asked for a couple of firm ones at the desk in the morning and they were waiting for me that night. I had a side room, but still had a balcony and a view of both the water and across the island. The only really odd thing was checkout- I had to leave a 5am Monday to catch my flight, and there was no one at the desk. I waited about 10 minutes, walking back and forth in front of the camera, and even stepped outside and back in thinking that might trigger a sensor. No one ever appeared, so I left my key cards and a note. It was a little bit disturbing that anyone could come in off the street and head off through the hotel without anyone noticing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Rachel B,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are happy that you found our bed accommodations to be comfortable and overall you had a commendable stay. I apologize for the unusual occurrence during check out. Your comments have been noted and will be forwarded accordingly to our team to ensure incidents like this do not happen again in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    30
    17
    21
See reviews for
66
51
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were totally disappointed in this hotel... We have always found Holiday Inn to be clean, accommodating hotels in the past. This poor excuse of a hotel was a sad place to bring our three yr old grandson for our fall getaway with him. The room smelled musty, the balcony was so dirty I wouldn't even let him sit in the chair out on it. Went to the pool/hot tub area to find both hot tubs not heated. Went down the next morning to the same problem. One of the hot tubs was full of dirty , brown colored water. There was a water hose piled up in front of the entrance to the pool area spewing water everywhere. Cigarette butts and trash were scattered around the pool area. A total disaster!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear bledso5,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property

I am disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the level of cleanliness and truly sorry for the pool facility fell below your standards. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Kansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose this hotel prior to our cruise. It had a shuttle to and from the port and parking for $25. We also like to stay at Holiday Inn's. The gulf was right across the street with many other attractions within driving distance. The room was small but did have a mini fridge which smelled of fish. The room was clean but could tell it was close to salt water with the smell of mildew. The bed was not comfortable, very hard and the pillows were just ok. The breakfast was good with a selection of different food items. The staff was friendly. I felt the room was way overpriced for the accomodations that we had and for a Holiday Inn was one of the least favorites we have stayed at. I would only recommend this hotel if you have a cruise scheduled since there are only a few that have the park and shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear ahappygirl,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We are glad you liked our location and found the staff friendly. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Booked two rooms for Saturday night Oct. 6th. One room had a strong mildew smell. Maintenence arrived 1-1/2 hours later to spray and wipe out the A/C. No help on the smell. At 2 AM my wife tries to adjust the thermostat and the A/C shorts out right in her face. No A/C for the remainder of the night. Front desk clerk was apoligetic but thats all.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Randy H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My friend are were on a road trip and we had planned on camping at the state park. We went and looked at the site and were not impressed, plus a huge thunderstorm was rolling in off the gulf, so we decided to find a hotel. We booked this hotel on Expedia, it had it listed at $400 but was discounted to $120. (I would never pay or stay here for $400). We booked our room from the parking lot and went in to check in, and they already had our reservation. The room was clean, and pretty standard. The best part of the room was the porch. Since it was raining and we couldn't go across the street to the beach, we sat on our porch, relaxed, and enjoyed a few beers. Our porch faced another hotel, but was angled so you could see the gulf. Overall a very nice stay.

The hotel's continental breakfast was very good.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Good place, smaller and quieter than the other Holiday Inn by the San Luis. The room was quite large and clean but the bed was lumpy (I have a bad back) and it was a little annoying hearing the folks upstairs stomping on the ceiling. The bathroom was huge and upgraded. AC worked well. The Gulf view was great, the staff was good, the free breakfast was satisfying, the pool and hot tub was enjoyable and clean - oh and the best part, quiet and kid-free.The Gulf is across the street but it is a rocky beach. There is a sandy beach just a few minutes drive to the west.

Room Tip: Suites have the full Gulf view but you will pay a substantial premium. The standard rooms on the eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

cleanest, friendliest staff and nicest rooms you could ever want! literally a stones throw from the ocean. every room had a balcony and it was great to sit out there and listen to and smell the ocean. they have hot tubs! will definitely return

Room Tip: this is a "cant go wrong" hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. We also offer parking and a shuttle to the Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.