We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here when in Galveston.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Will stay here when in Galveston.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Older hotel, but, in good shape. Nice balcony, and view. Staff is very nice, Room was clean and bed was comfy. Quiet location, but still close enough to dining, etc, as long as you don't mind driving a couple of miles.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room, so you have an unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    52
    29
    17
    21
See reviews for
66
49
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right at the beach. Typical HI Express - good breakfast, free parking. Rooms were nice - balcony view was of the hotel next door, with a side view of the pool and beach. Slightly away from all of the noise and action, but still near to restaurants and shopping. Wifi was weak at best.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear CaptainDon58,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. Please accept my apologies due to the poor WIFI connection. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Top floor room with balcony. Nice beach view. Friendly helpful staff. Offered inexpensive weekly parking while we took a cruise. Staff gave us Mardi Gras information. Property located along seawall, but away from the main busy area. Clean room, but musty smell. Ceiling and carpet waterstained in one area where roof leaked prior to our visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Montana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I wasn't expecting much after reading some previous reviews. We were treated very well upon arrival and took advantage of a $25 fee to park our rental car and take a shuttle to and from the cruise ship ports. Great price but the shuttle service a little unreliable, as well as taxi's. Not the fault of the hotel but it did create a problem for us. We had a great room, very clean. The breakfast was also very good. In short, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: we had a side view of the gulf which was quite adaquate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just stayed three nights in this hotel on the Seawall in Galveston. We had a lovely, very clean room with a balcony overlooking the beach. Friendly, free breakfasts and convenient location. The island was "hopping" with tourists there for the beginning of Galveston's Mardi Gras and those embarking and debarking from the four cruise ships in port over the weekend. The Disney Magic and Princess ship came in and left on Saturday with the Royal Caribbean Mariner of the Seas and the Carnival Magic on Sunday.

Room Tip: Our room had a good view of the Gulf so I would suggest the south side but not sure if those on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel was nice. The double room that we got had a balcony with a view toward the beach. The place is clean and well maintained. The staff left something to be desired for me. Upon check in, I asked the clerk to look up my PC number. I was told that only the manager could do that, regular desk clerks didn't have access to that information. I KNOW that this is incorrect information. Staff didn't know much about what there was to do on the island. On check out, I again asked the desk clerk about my PC number and was told again that only management could look up PC numbers and management would not be in that day. I was advised that I could call PC and tell them I stayed here. I eventually found my number among my travel gear. I then took the number in and asked her to add it to my account. I was then told that management would have to do that as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sparrowlw,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write feedback of our hotel. I am happy that you found our hotel to be nice and room accommodations commendable. I would like to apologize that your stay was negatively affected by the issues you encountered with the staff during your visit. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Maybe some of the other reviewers hit this hotel on a bad day. My experience was very good. The hotel is clean. The staff persons are all very friendly and efficient. The breakfast room was large so you do not feel rushed to eat. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom linins are quality. This is my second trip and I was glad to see that it had not slipped. I consider it a good value for the room price, and I will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. We also offer parking and a shuttle to the Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.