We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
sherman texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“from the start”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

have stayed in several hotels in my 70 years and this has to be worst place I have ever stayed. the door to our room would not latch and the clerk (was very nice) up graded us to a suit on the fron of the hotel. we moved into the new room and the air/heat unit would not work . we used up half a day waiting to get the new one installed before we could clean up and go out. then the same problem with the door latch. the door would not stay closed just like the first room. also the new room smelled awful so the cleaning lady came and sprayed some odor killer and it was a little better. we chcked out a day early on our three night stay and went back home. stay somewhere else. this hotel has a maintence problem.........

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Johnny S,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to share your experience. I am disappointed to read about the inconveniences you experienced particularly with the room accommodations' condition. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    62
    34
    25
    23
See reviews for
78
63
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our room was clean and updated. Parts of the property was in need of touch up work like the balcony. The beds were comfortable and the staff was very accomodating. The breakfasts were just okay. We went during a holiday and many of the restaurants were closed. I wish there were nice snacks available or some type of hot food and drinks in the evening kind of like they serve breakfast in the morning. Overall, we'd visit there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Gulf if you want nice scenery from your room. Also, ask for discounts AARP, A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
325 hotel reviews
Reviews in 238 cities Reviews in 238 cities
543 helpful votes 543 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I wish I had read the TripAdvisor reviews before booking at this property, which, except for its nicely decorated rooms and good breakfast is unlike any other of the dozens of Holiday Inn Express hotels in which I have previously stayed.

The problem seems to be the women who work at the front desk. Yvonne promised to compensate for a problem that gave us a sleepless night, but didn't, and a woman named Tess made us wait for a half an hour before acknowledging us, claimed she knew nothing of a problem recorded in a book at the reception desk, and told us that the manager of the hotel refuses to give her his telephone number.

The night desk clerk, Steve, and a handyman who helped me find an acceptable room for the second night of our stay, were the only two people at this hotel who behaved like normal, caring, responsible human beings.

On December 1 we stayed in room 416 in which the bed nearest the door has a mattress that is loose on its base. As a result, when one turns in the bed, it make a noise that awakened us from our sleep. Yvonne promised to compensate us for our sleepless night and move us to a different room, but she did not and Tess claimed to know nothing about our problem. On December 2 we stayed in room 411, and were not awakened by a broken bed.

It is not clear if the women who work at the desk are instructed to behave in these ways or if they are trying to create ill-will for whoever operates this establishment. In any event, this hotel cannot be recommended because of the unacceptable customer service.

Room Tip: Do more research and stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This holiday inn is past 61st street. The hotel was like most Holiday Inn express I have stayed in. We paid over $150 on a Saturday night and considered ourselves lucky to get a room on the island. The buffet was average and followed the posted hours to the minute. Parking is free and the check in was good. Overall, it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bartlesville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

going into galveston i wasnt expecting much cause it seems like the salt water just eats through the hotels but to my surprise i had actually reserved a great room we stay in a balcony facing over the ocean it was clean and very up to date in my opinion great rates for being right on the ocean awesome stay a+ now the breakfast you could use some work but all in all it was good how do you really complain on a free breakfast i would stay here again over and over and hope either people do too

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel was easy to find, however signage for parking not very clear. Check in was smooth, however when we got to room it smelled horribly of cigarette smoke. Went back to desk and got room change. When we got to new room, the door was open, and it was still dirty. Talked to front desk and housekeeping, nad we left our bags in the room, and went out to explore Galveston. When we got back a couple of hours later the room was clean, however it is just an average room. Door to balcony is big steel door, and balcony overlooked parking lot with a slight ocean view when leaning out.
I booked this as a 1 night pre cruise hotel, and was told they had parking for 15.00 for week and a free shuttle to pier. The next morning when we went to put the car where it was supposed to go, it was in an unsecured back lot behind the LaQuinta next door. There were no fences and I was not comfortable leaving my car there, so we made a reservation at EZ Cruise Parking that was 2 blocks from pier and they were great!
We went to lobby breakfast before checking out, and there was a busload of people, and their group lkeader was yelling at the buffet stocker, who was also the baggage handler that they were on a time schedule, and he had to go right then and collect everyone's bags...that left the buffet unmanned and empty. After finding an empty coffee urn, cold biscuits, and an empty pancake making machine, we just left and went to starbucks before getting on the cruise.

All in all, it was ok, but for the difference in actual money saved, I think next time I will stay closer to Houston, and just pay to park. Convenience was just not worth it!

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator, as there is very loud music
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are looking for a customer friendly oriented hotel, DO NOT stay at this place. The manager was very rude and not accommodating at all with our problem. Especially stressful when all area hotels were booked. We cancelled our reservations and thankfully for hotels who are customer friendly driven, we found an alternate place to stay with a great last minute rate during a busy event and friendly hotel staff. Please do not spend your money here especially if you book a state govt rate. You must have official work orders AND they will have to call to verify that you did not forge the document, according to the manager. Making a call to state goverment agencies on the weekend are impossible especially on a weekend when everyone at personnel division are off. if you run into a problem, they are not going to be helpful. They will just ask you to cancel your reservations in hopes of charging a Saturday rate of $324 a night to someone else instead of a cheaper rate when booked online.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Address: 8628 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hear the wave s crash from your balcony at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island, located on W Seawall Blvd across from the ocean. Galveston offers 32 miles of relaxing beaches, superb restaurants, marvelous downtown shopping in the Strand Historical District, historical museums with the Lone Star Flight Museum and the Texas Seaport Museum, fabulous entertainment and one of the largest and well-preserved concentrations of Victorian architecture in the country including the 1859 Moody Mansion. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston is a great value for business and leisure travelers. The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat is within easy reach; enjoy East Beach Park, Galveston Island Ferry, Stewart Beach, Bishop Palace and Moody Gardens, and the ever-popular Schlitterbahn Waterpark a family adventure. If you are embarking from the Port of Galveston or here on business, we are conveniently located close to University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance Company, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston College, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the US Coast Guard.Galveston is a small romantic island tucked deep within the heart of south Texas possessing all the charm of a small southern town with Texas Hospitality and just 40 minutes south of Houston. We look forward to seeing you at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston Island soon. We also offer parking and a shuttle to the Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Galveston West - Seawall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.