We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed this time...Unit 906” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Galvestonian to your Saves list
The Galvestonian
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BUY TWO, GET ONE FREE!
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Dallas, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A little disappointed this time...Unit 906”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

...because if the unit is not ready to rent - DON'T RENT IT!!!!
We have stayed in this unit several times previously and have always enjoyed it, very pleasant and perfectly suited for a mature couple.
BUT....
I understand there was hurricane damage - 14 months ago! BUT, if the glass is falling out of the door to the balcony, do something, don't just tell the renter that "the parts are on order"!!! I suggested that the maintenance people please seal the glass to the door frame with duct tape, ugly as it is, to stop the wind whistling noise and erratic climatic control. Also, the entry door had no weather stripping - I used my own masking tape to seal the cold out. This is NUTS!!
And finally, from the owner's locked closet - in the night - came a static sound. Ultimately it was a portable radio which had shorted out and "turned itself on". And the front desk said, too bad, we don't have a key. I picked the lock and removed the batteries.
The point here is, as I said, if it is NOT READY, DON'T RENT IT.
Still love the place, but very disappointed in the last visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    39
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
105
55
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Great place to unwind & relax; very private & well kept. The best place to stay on the island! Private beach was wonderful & extremely well kept.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

It may cost more than other places we had considered, but overall it was worth it. This was our first visit to Galveston and we chose The Galvestonian because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. We had a room with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a pull-out couch for 5 of us. Tons of room and a nice balcony. Great kitchen space with big fridge and all the amenities, so bring your own food if you don't want to eat out as much.

It's a very nice facility with beautiful surroundings. The Galvestonian is right on the beach with no busy street to cross and it's much more quiet and far less crowded than the strip at Seawall Blvd a couple miles down the road. The beach is very well taken care of and we chose to rent a chair/umbrella unit for $25 per day. We were there around August 10, 2009 and the water was so warm we didn't have to take any time to get used to it, you could just walk right from the beach into the water.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

We would go back here without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Great place for families, staff was nice, gave us 2 bedroom when it became available (we originally had a 1 bedroom) Great pool and beach. Bring your own food and toys/floats for beach and pool. $25 umbrella/chair charge for beach. Not crowed during our weekend. Met some great families! Room was nice, fully equipped. All we needed was to bring the food. The clean daily and change sheets every 3 days. Very nice staff. Condos differ depending on owners, ours was nice..not totally updated, but fine! Large plasma TV! Pull out couch bed, 1 King in main bedroom 2 twins in other. 2 bathroom, 1 with tub..ROOM 411. Only thing I didn't like was blinds on balconies didn't totally keep the sun out in the morning...but everything else was great!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The staff is great... Carol, Amanda, Roz, Julissa, Rick... even their new manager, Alan! Many improvements since Ike and they continue to make the Galvestonian that much better as they complete their renovations. We love the fact that the property is located directly on the beach with a picnic area with grills and tables as you walk out to the beach, all the condos (fully furnished, complete kitchens, wireless internet, etc.) have views of the ocean, the new pool and jacuzzi deck is very relaxing, they even have a covered cabana area with a full kitchen - next to the pool which you can reserve. The Galvestonian is very secluded with no crowds compared to other condos and hotels.
We did read the review of the elevator and they are in the process of finishing the installation of their new elevators, which means it will only be that much better next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This was our first trip to Galveston since Ike. I wasn't exactly sure what to expect. In the past, we had our own place on the west end for a while or would rent down that way. We decided to stay on the east end of the island because we'd heard that it had some good areas for collecting glass and peppermint shrimp (our primary purpose.) I called the Galvestonian to reserve a small one bedroom for the weekend of 7/17-19. They were nice enough to warn me in advance that some construction was going on. I imagine a some people would be upset about the construction, but we barely noticed it at all. There was no noticable noise...just an extremely courteous worker sharing an elevator every so often. I called the day that we were leaving to confirm our reservations (as I always do) and they couldn't find them. When I looked at the confirmation email, it turned out that I'd been confirmed for the weekend PRIOR to the one we were planning on coming down. I never noticed the simple mistake. I explained over the phone that I had never intended to come that weekend...hadn't noticed the incorrect date on the email...and so on. They fixed everything right away. Granted, they did make a mistake, but they also did NOT charge me for a stay I had not used but mistakenly confirmed and they provided a room for the correct dates at the agreed upon price. I was very happy with the remedy. The lobby and grounds of the hotel are lovely. The beach is great...one of the widest on the island....although the water is the same everywhere (they can't fix that!). Our unit was nice and comfortable and well stocked. We'll definitely return to the Galvestonian. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We've previously stayed at the San Luis, the Hilton, the Galvez, the Holiday Inn, the Casa del Mar, and the Victorian. This was our first visit to the Galvestonian and we WILL be returning. Our family stayed two nights in unit 809, which is a small one bedroom. The unit was clean and comfortable, and we felt very safe during our stay. The staff was courteous and the lobby was very pretty. Our favorite thing about the Galvestonian was the fact that it is directly on the beach, saving us from dodging traffic while crossing Seawall Blvd as we've done many times before. Our unit had a rocker glider, which was nice when our baby wanted to be rocked. We also enjoyed having the kitchen available for simple breakfasts, etc. The ONLY problem we encountered was that our sleeper sofa was broken. The pool/deck area is beautiful, and the view from the balcony at any unit is unbeatable. We will definitely be staying at the Galvestonian again in the future, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay while in Galveston. Yes, it is a mile off the beaten path, but WELL worth it for the relaxing atmosphere and convenience to the beach. (FYI - no lifeguard at the pool or the beach, so watch your children!) Suggestions for improvement: a larger fitness center (it was a small room and had only a few items to offer) and an on-site cafe for simple meals.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galvestonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.