We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galvestonian

Save Saved
You added The Galvestonian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Galvestonian
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Took our family of 7 to the Galvesonian. We rented room 312, which really had enough space with the couch bed for up to 9 people. It was well decorated, very clean, and a real gem. We loved our stay here. The front desk was super friendly. We did have to wait an hour past check-in for our room. The beach was less populated than other areas. It's Galveston so don't expect a super sand-white beach. The beaches do have a smell and do have seaweed but the resort does it's best to keep the beach clean. You can rent umbrellas but we decided to take our own canopy and chairs since we have a large group. It was perfect. The resort has plenty to do-- tennis, basketball, towels, and floats for the pool. The pool was very nice as was the hot tub. We actually went a few miles down the road to the Kroger and stocked up on breakfast items and a few snacks. Within a few miles are good restaurants- The Sunflower Cafe for lunch and Saltgrass for dinner. Also, the room had flashlights for crab hunting at night. The crabs we saw are small but it was still super fun for the kids. Free wi-fi and satellite tv in the room too. All in all, a great place to stay. Would stay here again! Wish it were a little less expensive but it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    37
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
99
49
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My family stayed here for 4 days. We had a very homey feeling. The grounds are beautiful, very well manicured. Pool was always clean and big. Our condo has been updated with new bath and kitchen. Plenty of space. (Could use a new sofa) We had a wonderful ocean view. The area has had a lot of seaweed this summer but it did not bother us at all. The Galvestonian kept it raked off main area. Unlike the west end. Very Sandy beach.
Very secluded area. The beach and pool areas were never crowded. This is one of the quietest places weve ever stayed. No hallway noise from people walking and slamming doors. No water noise from next door rooms like most hotels these days.
The employees were all so wonderful and polite. The maid service was great each day as well.
Go ahead and reserve an umbrella set. It's worth the $30.00.
The location is perfect. You are secluded yet just a short drive from the historic pier, shopping and the strand.
Stop at Target and grab groceries. We actually liked having a full kitchen to cut down on eating out.
We will definitely be back! Soon I hope.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit, we continue to receive many great comments about our property's location and the quality of service we provide. I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is our 4th visit in about a 15 year span. Came here when kids were little now they are grown. This trip was just me and the hubby. Excellent place to stay for families and couples. Great location. The beach is cleaned daily and the staff is friendly. All rooms have views of the ocean. Love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Galvestonian. I am happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here the week after 4th of July. The staff at this place are what make it so great, well the beach isn't bad either. There was so much sea weed that it was nice to have a pool as well. The property is clean and well maintained. They were doing their best to move the sea weed so that we could enjoy the beach without too much smell. Loved the location. It is pricey so if you can split the cost, it helps. We split it with some family members which made it the price I would have paid elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look at the photos for the units as you can choose your decor and location. They all have beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed on top floor for three nights as a family of 4 (two teens and parents), very happy with the accomodations and would certainly do again. Others have said the same, but the best features are: quiet location directly on the beach (no street to cross), friendly and helpful staff, modern and clean accomodations, beautiful grounds, and groundworkers really trying to keep up with the current seaweed issue (we went in June). We also received prompt service for a non-working coffee maker, it was replaced immediately. As to the seaweed issue, you can check status reports about it (apparently this has been an unusually bad season for it). Aside from the initial ugh factor, it did not ruin our stay. (When freshly washed up, it can be walked on like wet grass--not slimy--, and we and our teen girls had a great time despite its presence. Groundworkers would then remove it during the day).

Room Tip: All rooms have great view, but top floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was advised not to go to Galveston due to the seaweed issue and the terrible smell. We went anyway with some hesitancy. There was a such a huge difference in how they maintained their beachfront compared to other areas on the island. Additionally, the staff was wonderful and so friendly. It felt like a family run place. We loved everything about our stay. My husband is always ready to leave and go home from any vacation...this was the first time he did not miss home. It was a remarkable memory that was stress-free. Rooms were clean, daily maid service not only replaced towels, but did the dishes, cleaned out coffee pot etc. Many condos don't do daily full service. Right on the beach, no road to cross, beach wasn't crowded, close driving distance to resturants/shops etc, but far enough away to be very peaceful. Loved everything about it. Kathy

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better beach view, but all of them face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Galvestonian even though you were advised to avoid Galveston! As you noticed, our beach maintenance crew works extremely hard to provide a clean beach for our guests. We groom our beach daily and sometimes twice a day if needed.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

stayed here June 29 - July 2, 2014 and happy we did. I would rate this place a 10 star if available...everything from the grounds, service and room were very clean, well lit and security. I love how they clean the beach everyday and no crossing busy streets to get to the beach...just a short walk across their wood bridge from resort to beach!!!! they even supply towels for the pool and beach for you! they lit the open pit and we roasted smores!! It's away from the loud crazy crowds but close enough to drive to. Our room was totally furnished with everything you need!! Just bring your swimsuit and clothes...food to stock the kitchen, sit back and relax... the views were AMAZING and the best bed i've ever slept in!! This is the ONLY place I will stay at when visiting galveston!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms face ocean...any room is great ... we were in 914
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your kinds words! You have mentioned the two things that really sets us apart from other locations in Galveston. We are located right on the beach, plus we groom our beach daily! I am glad you were able to experience our fire pit and enjoy some delicious smores! I hope you will come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galvestonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.