We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot say enough good things about the Galvestonian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Galvestonian to your Saves list
The Galvestonian
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cannot say enough good things about the Galvestonian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My family stayed here for 4 days. We had a very homey feeling. The grounds are beautiful, very well manicured. Pool was always clean and big. Our condo has been updated with new bath and kitchen. Plenty of space. (Could use a new sofa) We had a wonderful ocean view. The area has had a lot of seaweed this summer but it did not bother us at all. The Galvestonian kept it raked off main area. Unlike the west end. Very Sandy beach.
Very secluded area. The beach and pool areas were never crowded. This is one of the quietest places weve ever stayed. No hallway noise from people walking and slamming doors. No water noise from next door rooms like most hotels these days.
The employees were all so wonderful and polite. The maid service was great each day as well.
Go ahead and reserve an umbrella set. It's worth the $30.00.
The location is perfect. You are secluded yet just a short drive from the historic pier, shopping and the strand.
Stop at Target and grab groceries. We actually liked having a full kitchen to cut down on eating out.
We will definitely be back! Soon I hope.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit, we continue to receive many great comments about our property's location and the quality of service we provide. I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    45
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
126
66
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston,TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is our 4th visit in about a 15 year span. Came here when kids were little now they are grown. This trip was just me and the hubby. Excellent place to stay for families and couples. Great location. The beach is cleaned daily and the staff is friendly. All rooms have views of the ocean. Love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Galvestonian. I am happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here the week after 4th of July. The staff at this place are what make it so great, well the beach isn't bad either. There was so much sea weed that it was nice to have a pool as well. The property is clean and well maintained. They were doing their best to move the sea weed so that we could enjoy the beach without too much smell. Loved the location. It is pricey so if you can split the cost, it helps. We split it with some family members which made it the price I would have paid elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look at the photos for the units as you can choose your decor and location. They all have beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed on top floor for three nights as a family of 4 (two teens and parents), very happy with the accomodations and would certainly do again. Others have said the same, but the best features are: quiet location directly on the beach (no street to cross), friendly and helpful staff, modern and clean accomodations, beautiful grounds, and groundworkers really trying to keep up with the current seaweed issue (we went in June). We also received prompt service for a non-working coffee maker, it was replaced immediately. As to the seaweed issue, you can check status reports about it (apparently this has been an unusually bad season for it). Aside from the initial ugh factor, it did not ruin our stay. (When freshly washed up, it can be walked on like wet grass--not slimy--, and we and our teen girls had a great time despite its presence. Groundworkers would then remove it during the day).

Room Tip: All rooms have great view, but top floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was advised not to go to Galveston due to the seaweed issue and the terrible smell. We went anyway with some hesitancy. There was a such a huge difference in how they maintained their beachfront compared to other areas on the island. Additionally, the staff was wonderful and so friendly. It felt like a family run place. We loved everything about our stay. My husband is always ready to leave and go home from any vacation...this was the first time he did not miss home. It was a remarkable memory that was stress-free. Rooms were clean, daily maid service not only replaced towels, but did the dishes, cleaned out coffee pot etc. Many condos don't do daily full service. Right on the beach, no road to cross, beach wasn't crowded, close driving distance to resturants/shops etc, but far enough away to be very peaceful. Loved everything about it. Kathy

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better beach view, but all of them face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Galvestonian even though you were advised to avoid Galveston! As you noticed, our beach maintenance crew works extremely hard to provide a clean beach for our guests. We groom our beach daily and sometimes twice a day if needed.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

stayed here June 29 - July 2, 2014 and happy we did. I would rate this place a 10 star if available...everything from the grounds, service and room were very clean, well lit and security. I love how they clean the beach everyday and no crossing busy streets to get to the beach...just a short walk across their wood bridge from resort to beach!!!! they even supply towels for the pool and beach for you! they lit the open pit and we roasted smores!! It's away from the loud crazy crowds but close enough to drive to. Our room was totally furnished with everything you need!! Just bring your swimsuit and clothes...food to stock the kitchen, sit back and relax... the views were AMAZING and the best bed i've ever slept in!! This is the ONLY place I will stay at when visiting galveston!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms face ocean...any room is great ... we were in 914
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your kinds words! You have mentioned the two things that really sets us apart from other locations in Galveston. We are located right on the beach, plus we groom our beach daily! I am glad you were able to experience our fire pit and enjoy some delicious smores! I hope you will come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

First time there and our boys had a blast! Nice clean fun property with lots to do as well as great staff at the desk! We loved room 107 had everything we needed and more. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your kinds word. Customer service is our top priority and i am happy to hear our front desk staff made you and your family feel right at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#14 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galvestonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.