We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Galvestonian to your Saves list
The Galvestonian
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BUY TWO, GET ONE FREE!
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I found the Galvestonian on trip advisor. The property consists of fully furnished and equipped condos from 1 BR to 3BR. We rented a 1BR on the 4th floor. All units have balconies overlooking the pool, gardens and patio are and best of all full gulf view. The sunrise and sunset views are wonderful. They were running a special buy 2 nights get 1 free.

The staff are all very helpful and polite. I was given some great recommendations for restaurants for dinner. Plus directions to some nearby attractions. It is on the east end of the island so its a bit secluded which we like and its right on the beach. You do not have to cross a road to the beach. You just go down stairs and across the wood walkway to the beach.. They have showers available to wash the sand off on your way back from the beach. They also rent umbrellas and chairs.

Each unit has a full kitchen. There is not a restaurant on the premises. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: you can view the actual condo online at the Galvestonian web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Jan M,

We are finding that a large majority of our new guests are finding us through Trip Advisor. So, thank you Trip Advisor... Your post really details our property very well. The buy 2 nights get 1 free special has been a hit this fall and it will continue into the early spring. I know the staff will really appreciate your comments about how helpful they were during your stay. The pictures you posted are awesome. I really love your sunrise photos. By the looks of it you were here during the equinox tides. They have now receded and we have our beach back! :) We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Thank you,
Tim Lopas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    39
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
105
55
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed 2 nights in a two bedroom. Each bedroom had its own bathroom. The condo was very nicely appointed and clean. The hotel staff and property were wonderful. I will be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi mhansen77657,

We really appreciate your comments about the Condo staff and the property. The staff has been working nonstop since Labor Day doing the after summer chores. It sounds like the condo you chose met your needs. We look forward to you returning to the Galvestonian.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Yes, this is our fourth straight year staying here, and will continue to make the Galvestonian our home away from home! The unit we stayed in, 906, was recently remodeled and still has a true feeling of home, instead of a hotel feel. All the staff is exceptional, and it was great to see Carol and Roz once again. We enjoyed seeing the beach chairs and umbrella available for rent, as well as the fire pit. We, fully, intend to take advantage of those new amenities next year. To the Galvestonian and owners who provide rental units, I would suggest having more rooms available with the open concept of 906, as that is perfect for a couple, only, stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Brad C,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this nice review. Condo 906 is a great condo for couples. Not too many guests take advantage of the fire pit area. Hopefully, it will get used more during the cooler months. Thank you for the kind comments on the staff. Both Roz and Carol are great assets. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here with my wife. The condo was a good size, clean and comfortable. We didn't use the kitchen much, but it was nice that it was there when we opened a bottle of wine or stored some of our take out. I like that we didn't have to cross the street to get to the beach. They kept it clean with chairs out front. Also, the pool was great. Overall, it was a great week.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi thrillawilla,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here at the Galvestonian. Now is definitely the time to spend a week in Galveston. It’s not so hot during the day and cool at night making it really pleasant this time of year. We are glad you enjoyed the condo and the access to the beach. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I will keep this review brief. I celebrated my bachelorette weekend at the Galvestonian room 1200 and all I can say is that it was fabulous! I cannot recommend this place enough. Our room was very modern and luxurious. Two balconies with a great view. It rained majority of the weekend, but it didn't matter because our suite was so nice and large that we were able to enjoy being indoors. If you plan on staying at the Galvestonian book suite 1200 you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Mateika83,

Your right! Condo 1200 is an awesome unit. The south and east views are phenomenal. We are glad your special weekend went well here at the Galvestonian. Good luck with your upcoming wedding. We would love to see you and your new husband back here in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I'm more of a review reader than writer, but our stay was so perfect that I felt the need to share our experience. From our first step in the door to our last step out, it was wonderful. My husband and I stayed in unit 107, and were delighted with every aspect of our visit. We were welcomed (sincerely!) every time we walked into the lobby, and the staff were genuine and helpful in answering questions and providing suggestions. Even from our low floor, we had a beautiful view of the beach. As a bonus to being on a low level, we could smell the tropical flowers with every hint of breeze. It reminded me SO MUCH of my last visit to Jamaica - the air was just softly perfumed. (Kudos to the hardworking groundskeepers - I'm a very early riser and could see them tending plants by 7:00 every morning. It's obvious that they really care about the health and beauty of the vegetation.) The walk to the beach took maybe three leisurely minutes from the lobby, over a lovely boardwalk. The beach was very clean and wasn't crowded (we did stay Monday-Wednesday, so I can't promise anything to the weekenders).

The unit was well stocked with everything we could possibly need (shampoo, soap, dishes, even a little dishwasher), and plenty of beach towels were available in the lobby. We ate out at every meal, but the fridge came in handy to store leftovers for snacking. It's in a relatively secluded area, so we did have to drive everywhere; however, it was definitely worth it - we didn't have to hear any loud partying or drunken beachgoers. During our stay, most of the guests were retired couples and a few families with thankfully well-behaved children.

We couldn't ask for more, and we'll definitely, certainly, positively be back to Galveston, to the Galvestonian, and to unit 107!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Moonpie71,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit to the Galvestonian. We are glad you had a memorable stay. Jesus our groundskeeper works really hard to ensure the property's plants and flowers are well maintained. Most guests want to stay higher for the view. The view on the first floor is also good and you are right above the hibiscus plants where you can smell their fragrances. April would be a great time for you to come back. All of the flowers are in full bloom, the hummingbirds are here, and the weather is fantastic. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Another great stay at the Galvestonian. This is only place to stay if you want to be right on the water. Sitting on your private balcony with morning coffee or your favorite drink in the evening. So relaxing. The staff at the Galvestonian is friendly and professional. You cannot be disappointed in a condo at the Galvestonian. Ours had everything we could possibility need and more. Tried surfing lessons on this trip. What great fun! Had the best instructor from ValzSurf. If you want to try something new, Val is an excellent teacher with unbelievable enthusiasm. Also enjoyed dinners at some of the many Galveston restaurants. Decided Fisherman's Wharf is my favorite. Already missing the sounds of the waves and the absolutely beautiful landscaped grounds at the Galvestonian! ---BCS, Plano,Texas

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Barbara S,

We really appreciate your kind comments about our staff here at the Galvestonian. They love reading trip advisor reviews. I think it’s really cool that you took surfing lessons. I think I remember speaking to you about it… These past 2 weekends the surf has really been up! This last Monday it came up almost all the way to the walkover with the equinox tides. There are so many restaurants that are very good to choose from here in Galveston and Fisherman's Wharf ranks right up there with the best of them. We are glad you had a relaxing stay and we hope to see you back again soon.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galvestonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.